The Burkett Miller Distinguished Lecture Series

The Burkett Miller Distinguished Lecture Series brings internationally recognized scholars, practitioners, and thinkers to the UTC campus to speak on topics critical to an understanding of the market economy. The series is organized and supported by the Probasco Chair for the benefit of the University, business community, area schools, and the general public.

Past lecturers include:

  • Nobel Laureates: Vernon Smith, James Buchanan, Edward Prescott, Thomas Schelling, and Elinor Ostrom
  • President of the Czech Republic Václav Klaus
  • Estonian Prime Minister Mart Laar
  • Vice President of the United States Dan Quayle
  • Attorney General Edwin Meese III
  • Publisher Steve Forbes
  • Columnist Walter Williams
  • ABC News Commentator John Stossel
  • Constitutional Attorney Ann Coulter
  • Economists: Arthur Laffer and Thomas Sowell
  • Charles Murray; Lester Thurow; Dwight Lee; Richard McKenzie; Robert Lekachman; Herbert Stein; and Paul McCracken

View Previous Burkett Miller Distinguished Lectures