English Awards, Scholarships, & Contests

The English Department sponsors several annual writing awards, scholarships, and the (K-12) Young Southern Student Writers Contest.

UTC English Writing Awards

The English Department is pleased to invite submissions to the following annual writing awards and scholarships:

(1) The Creative Nonfiction Award
(2) The Ken Smith Fiction Award 

Apply here!


(3) The Sally B. Young Critical Writing Award


Learn more here!


Outstanding Graduating Senior Award

The Department also awards three outstanding seniors each year from our Literary Study, Creative Writing, and Rhetoric and Professional Writing tracks.


2017 Department of English Scholarships Application

The Department of English Scholarships Committee invites you to apply for the following seven scholarships specifically designated for English majors: the Arlie E. Herron Scholarship, the Sally B. Young Scholarship, the Marian J. Tyte Scholarship, the Chuck Pierce Scholarship, the Robert W. and Beatrice R. Anderson Scholarship, the William Thomas and Louise Morris Garrison Scholarship, the Thelma Styles Igou Poetry Scholarship, Dr. Margaret N. Kelley Scholarship, and the Phanorack James Daniel Chapman Memorial Endowed English Scholarship.

Get more information

Apply here!

Applications must be received by March 1, 2017



Getting Started for the 2019 Contest

Welcome to the online submissions process for Young Southern Student Writers! Student entries are submitted this year as they have been in previous years (i.e., by the teacher and according to grade level and category). Note that submissions are accepted EXCLUSIVELY online. They will arrive in our database as e-mail attachments. Permissible file formats:  .doc, .docx, or .rtf.  We do NOT accept PDFs or Pages documents. And please do not send e-mails with the poetry or prose submissions in the body of the e-mail message.  

Eligibility:  Students from any school (K-12) in the greater Chattanooga area, as well as home school students, are eligible to enter the YSSW contest.  Each entry must be the original work of the student, and it must not have been previously submitted to another contest or competition. Submission of the entry is an indication of acceptance of and adherence to these rules.

Contest Rules and Guidelines