Information Sessions

male student in italy

Know before you go.

Whether you’re interested in a summer, semester, or year-long study abroad experience, all UTC students are required to attend Study Abroad 101 and Study Abroad 102 prior to applying for any study abroad program.


Study Abroad 101: Study Abroad Programs at UTC 

UTC students interested in summer, semester or year-long study abroad are required to attend a general study abroad information session offered by the UTC Office of Study Abroad.

UTC Study Abroad office staff discuss available programs, how you should choose the best program, transfer of credit, application procedures, financial aid and scholarships.

Learn “almost” everything about study abroad programs and UTC policies so that you will get the best out of your study abroad experience.

Starting in February 2020, Study Abroad 101 will be in a video format that can be watched at any time before attending a Study Abroad 102 session. 

Sign up for a Study Abroad 101 session →

January

Thursday, Jan. 9: 2pm - UC Ocoee Room

Wednesday, Jan. 15: 2pm - UC Ocoee Room

Tuesday, Jan. 21: 10am - UC Ocoee Room

February

Thursday, Feb. 6: 2pm - UC Ocoee Room

Wednesday, Feb. 19: 3pm - Hooper Hall Tower Room

March

Tuesday, Mar. 3: 3pm - Hooper Hall Tower Room

Wednesday, Mar. 18: 3pm - Hooper Hall Tower Room

April

Thursday, Apr. 2: 2pm - Hooper Hall Tower Room

Thursday, Apr. 16: 3pm - Hooper Hall Tower Room

Back to List


Study Abroad 102: Financial Aid, Scholarships and Academics 

Join us for Study Abroad 102 as we dig deeper into the Study Abroad experience. 

This session discussed steps on choosing the right program for you, how to apply for the program, credit transfers and academic courses abroad, and scholarship options. We cover how to utilize your UTC financial aid for study abroad and discuss details about passports, visa and insurance.

We recommend that you attend a Study Abroad 101 session before attending a Study Abroad 102 Session.

Sign up for Study Abroad 102 →

January

Monday, Jan. 13: 10am

Thursday, Jan. 23: 10am

Tuesday, Jan. 28: 5pm

February

Wednesday, Feb. 5: 2pm 

Monday, Feb. 10: 10am

Thursday, Feb. 20: 10am

Tuesday, Feb. 25: 5pm

March

Wednesday, Mar. 4: 2pm

Thursday, Mar. 19: 10am 

Tuesday, Mar. 24: 5pm 

April

Wednesday, Apr. 1: 2pm

Monday, Apr. 6: 10am

UC Ocoee Room

Back to List


Study Abroad 103: Pre-Departure Orientation

Study Abroad 103 Pre-Departure Orientation reviews culture shock, health and safety while abroad, "Know Before You Go," and important UTC information related to financial aid and academics/transcripts for after your return. Other important information will be discussed (including Title IX information).

Any UTC student participating in a study abroad program (faculty-led, exchange, or provider) is required to attend a Study Abroad 103 Pre-Departure Orientation. If you have previously studied abroad (while a UTC student) and have attended a pre-departure orientation, please notify jamie-k-booth@utc.edu

If you are participating in a program that falls into one of these categories you must sign up for a Study Abroad 103 session in Spring 2020:

  • Summer 2020 Provider/Exchange/Faculty-led Programs
  • Fall 2020 & AY 2020-2021 Provider/Exchange/Direct Enroll Programs

Sign up for Study Abroad 103 →

  • Tuesday, April 7: 10am - 11am
  • Wednesday, April 8: 4pm - 5pm
  • Thursday, April 9: 2pm - 3pm
  • Monday, April 13: 2pm - 3pm

Email  jamie-k-booth@utc.edu if you cannot attend one of these days/times.

UC Signal Mountain Room

Back to List


Study Abroad 104: Welcome Back!

Study Abroad 104 is designed to welcome back recent study abroad students.

The Study Abroad Office is partnering with the Center for Career & Leadership Development to bring you all the information you need to make your recent study abroad experience work for your career. You'll get tips on how to make your study abroad look great on a resume or cover letter and how to talk about your experiences in interviews and pitches. Plus, you'll get to meet other study abroad alum and learn how to stay involved now that you're back on campus!

Sign up for Study Abroad 104 →

Spring 2020 Session (for those who studied abroad Fall 2019):

  • Tuesday, January 14: 2pm
  • Thursday, January 16: 10am

UC Ocoee Room

Back to List