Crime Statistics Handbook and Policies
2017 Annual Security and Fire Safety Report
This information is being provided to you as part of UTC’s commitment to safety and security on campus and is in compliance with the Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security and Campus Crime Statistics Act (formerly the Crime Awareness and Campus Security Act of 1990). This document contains information about crime & fire statistics for calendar years 2014 – 2016. It also contains policies and procedures at the University. The information provided can help you make informed decisions about your safety, the safety of others within the community, and provide information about what to do should you or someone you know ever become a victim of a crime.
If you would like a paper copy of this report, please contact Anitra Barrett-Williams, Clery Compliance Coordinator, at 423-425-5961 or email her at Anitra-Barrett-Williams@utc.edu.
Alcohol and Drug Policy
The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga seeks to encourage and sustain an academic environment that respects individual freedoms and promotes the health, safety, and welfare of its students, faculty, and staff. In keeping with these objectives, the University has established guidelines and policies governing the possession and consumption of drugs and/or alcoholic beverages on University property.
The UTC Student Handbook strictly prohibits the possession, use, or distribution of drugs or narcotics, including stimulants and depressants, on University owned or controlled property, except as allowed by the law. Both the UTC Student Handbook and the University Personnel Policies and Procedures Manual specifically prohibit the possession and/or use of alcoholic beverages on University owned property. Students who use and/or possess drugs and/or alcohol on campus may face disciplinary sanctions and criminal charges (when legal violations occur in addition to policy violations.)
Availability of counseling resources
The Counseling and Career Center offers a variety of programs and services that address issues including alcohol, substance abuse, crisis intervention, and other personal problems. The Center, in conjunction with Student Affairs, co-sponsors Alcohol Awareness Week and Drug Awareness Week on an annual basis. Also, the Center uses other programming and support groups as resources for preventing, confronting, or solving substance abuse and other problems. The Center has professional staff members with specific expertise in the area of substance abuse control. Services are confidential and often free for students. For more information contact the Counseling Center
Alcohol use by minors
According to Tennessee State Law, it is unlawful for any person under the age of 21 years to have in such person's possession or transport any intoxicating liquor for any purpose. This section shall not be construed as prohibiting any person 18 years of age or older from transporting, possessing, selling or dispensing intoxicating liquor in the course of such person's employment. A violation of this law is a Class A misdemeanor and can be punished with a fine up to $2500, 11 months 29 days in jail, mandatory attendance in a substance abuse program, possible community service and loss of driver's license until the age of 21. Any person who purchases an alcoholic beverage for or at the request of a person under 21 years of age commits a misdemeanor and, upon conviction for such person's first such offense, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $500 and by not more than 30 days of community service work.
It is unlawful for any person who is younger than 21 years of age to purchase or attempt to purchase any alcoholic beverage. A violation of this law is a Class A misdemeanor and can be punished with a fine up to $2500 and 11 months 29 days in jail. Any person under 21 years of age who knowingly makes a false statement or exhibits false identification to the effect that he is 21 years old or older to any person engaged in the sale of alcoholic beverages for the purpose of purchasing or obtaining the same commits a misdemeanor.
If the person violating this subsection is less than 18 years of age, that person shall be punished by a fine of $50 or not less than 20 hours of community service work.
Tennessee law regarding drunk driving
When an officer suspects that a driver has been drinking, that driver is asked to take a breath or blood test to determine the presence of alcohol or drugs in the body. Under Tennessee law, a driver is presumed to be under the influence if the alcohol test shows a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more. The following penalties are applicable when one is convicted of a first DUI offense. Subsequent and more severe penalties apply for additional convictions.
- Jail sentence of 48 hours (minimum) up to 11 months and 29 days (maximum).
- Fine of $350 up to $1500, plus court costs, attorney fees, and increased insurance rates.
- Loss of driving privilege for one year.
- Restitution to DUI victim and possible community service work.
- If at the time of such offense the alcohol concentration in such person's blood or breath is .20% or more, the minimum period of confinement for such person shall be 7 consecutive calendar days.
Open container law
It is unlawful for any person to possess any open alcoholic beverage container or to consume any alcoholic beverage in the passenger area of any motor vehicle (including possession or consumption by the driver of the vehicle) located on a public highway, or the right-of-way of a public highway, in this state.
“Open container” means any container containing alcoholic beverages or beer, the contents of which are immediately capable of being consumed or the seal of which has been broken. “Public highway or right-of-way of a public highway” means the entire width between the right-of-way boundary lines of every way publicly maintained when any part thereof is open to the use of the public for purposes of vehicular travel. A violation of this section is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine of fifty dollars.
Possession and use of weapons
No person other than Police Department personnel, or permitted full-time university employees who have properly notified the Police Department, may carry or possess firearms on campus.
Students who violate this regulation may face disciplinary sanctions and criminal charges, and have the potential to receive a maximum sentence by the courts of a $3,000.00 fine and 6 years in prison.
Tennessee Law regarding carrying weapons on school property
For information regarding prohibited and permissible posession of weapons on school campuses, see Tennessee law TCA 39-17-1309.
Campus Concealed Carry
As of July 1, 2016, Tennessee law TCA 39-17-1309 allows generally all University of Tennessee full-time employees with a valid handgun permit to carry a concealed handgun on University of Tennessee property.