The Office of National Scholarships

UTC media
Girl in chair with projected screen behind her


Congratulations to our 2019-2020 award finalists and recipients!

Ashwyn Sam '20 was named a 2020 Knight-Hennessy Scholar which awards full tuition for post-grad study at Stanford University. Ashwyn joins 83 other global scholars in the 3rd Knight-Hennessy cohort selected from an an initial pool of over 6,000 applicants. Ashwyn will pursue a Ph.D. in Aeronautics & Astronautics. He is the first UTC student selected as a finalist and subsequent scholar.

Hannah Horton '20 received the Fulbright U.S. Student Program award for a Master's in Korean Studies in South Korea. Hannah is first UTC student awarded a grant for Master's study under the U.S. Fulbright Student Program. 

Ximena Leon '21 was named a 2020 Goldwater Scholar.  The Barry Goldwater recognizes and awards promising future research scientists and provides up to $7,500 for educational expenses. Ximena Leon & Dell Zimmerman are UTC's first Goldwater Scholars since 2008.

Dell Zimmerman '21 was named a 2020 Goldwater Scholar. 

Mae Stuart '18 was selected for the MITRA scholarship under the Erasmus Mundus Program. The MITRA is an interdisciplinary bilingual master's program dedicated to the study of migratory phenomena on an international scale.

Simone Edwards '19, a Fulbright alumna (Guatemala, ETA, 2020), was awarded a position with City Year in Washington D.C., - an AmeriCorps program dedicated to serving under-resourced schools and communities.

Tiffany Harvey '20 was accepted to the Amgen Scholars Program at Stanford University. This award is a fully-funded 10-week summer research and mentorship program at premier research universities and institutions. 

Ximena Leon '20 was accepted to the Amgen Scholars Program at Yale University and Vanderbilt University's PAECER Summer Research Program.  

Itzel Guzman Hernandez '19 was offered a position as an Assistant Language Teacher for the Japanese Exchange & Teaching Program (JET) for the 2020 - 2021 academic year. 

Tiffany Herron 'M '20 was named an alternate for a Fulbright Study/Research Award (Creative Arts) in Samoa for the 2020-2021 competition cycle.

Sara Baluch '20 was named an alternate for a Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship (ETA) position to Malta for the 2020-2021 competition cycle. 

Hannah Hightower '19 was named a semi-finalist for an Open Study/Research position in Spain for the 2020-2021 competition cycle. 

The following students were awarded the Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship*:

Ansley Barber, Fall 2020, United Kingdom (Alternate)
Mary Bowers, Fall 2020, Panema (Alternate)
Ashlyn Man, Summer 2020, Bhutan
Sara Marc, Summer 2020, France
Kaitlyn Warf, Summer 2020, Japan
Audrey Lawson, Spring 2020, Semester-At-Sea
Aurora Cotton-Suda, Spring 2020, United Kingdom (Alternate)

 *The Gilman Scholarship awards students of limited financial means (Pell-grant recipients) to study or intern abroad. Gilman awards for the Summer & Fall 2020 are eligible for deferment due to COVID-19.  

Contact Leslie at [email protected] for more information about nationally-competitive awards.

National Scholarships

National Scholarships