Section Menu

UTC Writing and Communication Center

Everyone—from a first year student to a seasoned faculty member—can benefit from getting feedback on their work from a peer. The UTC Writing & Communication Center, open to the entire UTC community, offers consultations on any type of writing, speech, or presentation, at any stage of the creation process. Whether you’d like some help brainstorming ideas for a research paper, writing a thesis statement, using correct in-text citations, making your resume and cover letter shine, or getting over your fear of public speaking, the WCC consultants are happy to assist you! Consultation sessions, as well as use of our computers and resources are free. All UTC students, faculty and staff are welcome!

We are located on the third floor of the library in room 327.

Walk-ins are welcome, but for a guaranteed consultation, make an appointment here.

For more information, please contact us at or (423) 425-1774.

In addition to one-to-one consultations, the WCC offers in-class visits and workshops, as well as individualized presentations for groups of students, faculty, and staff. Contact Director Dr. Maggie Herb at or (423) 425-5128 for more information.

Fall 2015 Hours (Regular Hours)

Monday - Thursday 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday CLOSED
Sunday 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Special Hours

Thanksgiving Holiday

Wed., Nov. 25 - Sat. , Nov. 28 CLOSED

Extended Library Hours for Finals

Sun. , Nov. 29 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon., Nov. 30 - Thurs., Dec. 3 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri., Dec. 4 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat., Dec. 5 CLOSED
Sun., Dec. 6 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon., Dec. 7 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tues., Dec. 8 9:00 am - 5:00 pm