thinkachieve logo

ThinkAchieve:  Connecting Classroom and the Community


ThinkAchieve Faculty Awards 2013

We are pleased to announce our first recipients of the ThinkAchieve Faculty Awards.  This award program provides recognition and monetary awards to faculty members who have demonstrated exemplary teaching that meets the goals of ThinkAchieve.  Faculty Memb3ers are integral players in promoting student critical thinking skills through the implementation of innovative classroom and experiential activities that promote active learning.  This awards program is designed to reward faculty for their work in developing and implementing these types of activities to improve student learning.

We congratulate the awardees and all those who were nominated!

Jennifer Boyd, Assistant Professor
Biology, Geology and Environmental Sciences

Dr. Boyd, a five-year member of the faculty, teaching Environmental Science, Ecology, Global Change Biology, and Plant Ecology.  She is active in curriculum development for biology courses through which she promotes inquiry-based learning.  She is also engaged in community-based educational outreach.


Lisa Burke, Professor of Management, UC Foundation Professor
Management, College of Business

Dr. Boyd  has been with UTC for five years.  She teaches Management courses in Staffing, Compensation and Benefits, and Workplace Learning and Training.  Dr. Burke uses many teaching techniques to encourage critical thinking such as experiential learning and the use of her research as teaching moments.


Charlene Simmons, UC Foundation Assistant Professor

Dr. Simmons teaches Mass Communication, Publication Design, and Mass Communication Law and Ethics and has been at UTC for seven years.  she employs novel methods to engage students such as team-based learning, the use of a mannequin to act out legal and ethical issues, and the integration of social media. 


Congratulations to all of our nominees:  Ralph Covino (History), Lyn Miles (Anthropology), Abdul Ofoli (Electrical Engineering), Christopher Silver (Psychology), Cathie Smith (Physical Therapy), and Patrick Sweetman (Theater and Speech).