Division Directory

 

Executive Team Deans & Directors Administrative Staff

 

Executive Team

image thumbnail

Trae Cotton, Ph. D.

Vice Chancellor for the Division of Student Development

Dr. Cotton holds a Doctor of Philosophy from Walden University in Minneapolis. He earned his bachelor of arts at the University of North Texas and his master’s degree from Eastern New Mexico University.

Dr. Cotton directly oversees all of the deans and directors of the division's offices and departments.

Office Location:    306 University Center (access through 399 University Center)

E-mail address:    trae-cotton@utc.edu

 

Dr. Moise Baptiste

Executive Director for Student Development

Dr. Moise (Mo) Baptiste is a first generation Haitian-American and is originally from Miami, FL. He currently serves as the Executive Director here at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. He is charged with helping the UTC and Chattanooga community work more collaboratively around issues of diversity and inclusion. As faculty, he has taught courses such as: Education and Society, Youth Culture, Resistance and Education, Social and Cultural Foundations in Education and The Mis-Education of Haiti.

As a scholar, Dr. Baptiste’s has constructed a leadership theory that he has coined Leadership from the Margins Theory, which assumes social conflict theory rather than systems theory and, he has identified characteristics that make up these marginalized leaders. Dr. Baptiste also researches the identity(s) formations and performances of Black males throughout the African Diaspora.

Dr. Baptiste received an Associate of Arts degree from Kemper Military Academy, Bachelor of Arts degree in Communications and Master of Science degree in Business Education from Robert Morris University and a Ph.D. from Miami University in Social Foundations in Education. 

Office Location:   354 University Center

E-mail address:    moise-baptiste@utc.edu

 

 

 

(back to top)

 

Deans and Directors

placeholder

Caesar Wood

Executive Director for Campus Recreation & the University Center

Caesar-Wood@utc.edu

226 University Center

placeholder

Dr. Michelle Rigler

Director
Disability Resource Center (DRC)

Michelle-Rigler@utc.edu

108-A University Center

placeholder

Carol Oglesby

Assistant Director
Healthy Living Initiative

Carol-Oglesby@utc.edu

143-D University Center

placeholder

Valara Sample

Director
Housing & Residence Life

Valara-Sample@utc.edu

Stacy Town Center

 

 

placeholder

James Hicks

Dean of Students
Office of the Dean of Students

Jim-Hicks@utc.edu

399 University Center

placeholder

Sara Peters

Director
The Center for Women and Gender Equity

Sara-Peters@utc.edu

351-A University Center

 

(back to top)

 

Administrative Staff

image thumbnail

Hannah Turcotte

Special Projects Coordinator

Hannah joins the division after recently completing her bachelors degree at the institution. As a student leader and former student body president during her undergraduate career, Hannah uses her involvement experience to inform her work on a variety of special projects for our division. Some of the projects she is currently working on include the Lupton Hall renovation and work on the division's diversity and inclusion initiatives. 

Office Location:    399 University Center

E-mail address:    tjv981@mocs.utc.edu

image thumbnail

Pam Blevins

Administrative Specialist & Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for Student Development

 

Office Location:   100 Hooper Hall

E-mail address:    Pam-Blevins@utc.edu

  

image thumbnail

Melita Rector

Administrative Specialist to the Dean of Students

 

Office Location:   399 University Center

E-mail address:    Melita-Rector@utc.edu

 

 

 

 

 

(back to top)