Supreme Court Building

Undergraduate Scholarships

Criminal Justice currently has four undergraduate scholarships available: the Suzanne Bailey Scholarship, The Leslie Vaughn Prater Memorial Scholarship, and the Doc Schettler Scholarship. 

The Undergraduate Doc Schettler Scholarship is a maximum of $2000 a year awarded to an outstanding, full-time, Senior majoring in Criminal Justice. Criteria include, undergraduate GPA, purpose of pursing a criminal justice degree, and financial need. Preference will be given to students who intend to pursue a Master’s degree in Criminal Justice at UTC. Award to be determined by Departmental Scholarship Committee.

Ann Schettler Worth established this scholarship in memory of her father, Clarence G. “Doc” Schettler who was a pharmacist who owned Schettler Drugs in Sweetwater, Tennessee, and was a great believer in education. He was one of seven children of German immigrants. At age eighteen, he became the youngest person to successfully complete the pharmacy qualifying examination. He served in the military in Europe during World War I, and upon his return attended the University of Tennessee. Doc was instrumental in establishing the National Guard unit in Sweetwater, and faithfully served his country during World War II. His commitment to education inspired his two daughters and all of his grandchildren to attend and graduate from college. Doc’s passing in 1981 was a great loss to his family, friends and community, but the fruits of his integrity, faithfulness, and commitment to education endure through his family and this scholarship program established in his memory.


The Undergraduate Suzanne Bailey Scholarship is a maximum of $600 a year awarded to a junior or senior in Criminal Justice who has demonstrated financial need and successful academic progress.  A student who has held this scholarship in the previous year shall have preference in subsequent years. 

This scholarship was set up in honor of Suzanne Bailey, Judge of Hamilton County Juvenile Court since 1990, by the Tennessee Juvenile Court Services Association, a professional association of Juvenile Court workers created in 1973 to serve the interest and needs of children across the state of Tennessee. Through this fund, the association, which provides a forum for the exchange of professional ideas through training of Juvenile Justice professionals, wishes to fund scholarships that will benefit worthy students in the field of Criminal Justice.


The Undergraduate Leslie Vaughn Prater Memorial Scholarship is an award of approximately $500 awarded to a student majoring in Criminal Justice with at least 60 hours and a GPA of 2.75 or higher.  Preference will be given to African-American students.  A student who has held this scholarship in the previous year shall have preference in subsequent years.   Applicants must write an essay on "I Believe in Justice for All."


Leslie Vaughn Prater was born on December 24, 1966 in Chattanooga, TN. He was the son of Dwight and Loretta and the brother of Stefan Prater. He was a graduate of Tyner High School, where he was selected as a Senior Superlative of his 1985 graduating class. He had a very charismatic personality and strong leadership qualities. During his teenage years, Leslie developed a strong interest in the arts, particularly painting and drawing. Leslie attended Tennessee State University and the Art Institute of Atlanta. While living in Atlanta, he held a position as an illustrator and Post Production Manager with Medical Legal illustrations. Eventually he returned to Chattanooga where he resided until his tragic and untimely death on January 2, 2004 at the age 37. Although his glowing smile and personality are no longer here to brighten the days of those who knew and loved him, his love of life and passion for helping people will live on through this scholarship. It is the family’s sincere hope that the recipients of this scholarship will embrace justice and embark on a successful professional career to ensure that justice is enjoyed by all.