Faculty Awards Committee Report to Faculty Senate 2023-2024

From the impetus of this committee (past & present), faculty who represent each college contributed incredible ideas, collaborated energetically together & embraced the essence of this committee charge from Dr. Matt Matthews, Vice provost. There is an attitude of collegiality among our committee members. This is an absolute privilege to be the chair for UTC Faculty Awards committee. Members include Trevor Elliot, Melissa Powell, Lakmali Weerasena, Raga Ahmed, Randy Evans, Sarah Kantor, Andrea Neeley, Rachel Fleming, & Jamie Harvey, chair.

September 13, 2023: Types of awards were heavily discussed & chosen.

Teaching: Non-tenure track (NTT), Tenure-track (TT), Adjunct

Mentoring: faculty to faculty, faculty to student/s, faculty to staff

Research: Early, Lifetime, Research & creativity/TT

<u>Service</u>: 2 awards: (one for Community, one for campus & Lifetime (minimum 15 years at UTC)

Determined that this committee is the body who scores the rubrics. Each college is represented by faculty.

October 25, 2023: questions arose: can any award be a collective/group? Award comes with a plaque, money or other?

We started to formulate criteria: eligibility, descriptions, boundaries, nominators, nominees, timeframe. Beyond these beginnings, recognizing each award needed a rubric.

December 13, 2023: Teaching awards discussed & deciphered: Tenure, Non-tenure, Adjunct.

Decided to meet the 2nd & 4th Friday of each month until our tasks are completed.

January 12, 2024/Friday: Teaching Awards were established. Mentoring award reviewed, discussed & established.

January 25, 2024/Friday: Research Awards (Tenure-track, Tenure, Lifetime) were established: Tenure-track, Tenure and Lifetime.

February 9, 2024/Friday: Determined criteria & procedures for Service awards. Consider adding Lifetime Teaching Award to match consistency with the Teaching & Research Lifetime.

February 15, 2024/Thursday: Jamie Harvey, chair, presented our committee update to Faculty Senate. She clarified the chosen awards (Teaching, Research, Service and Mentoring with the various faculty ranks) & answered a few questions.

February 23, 2024/Friday: Established the Teaching Awards categories that could include student evaluations, experiential learning, and student success. To date, we have established 14 faculty awards. These include: Teaching (Tenure, Lifetime, Tenure-track, Non-tenure-track & adjunct), Service (Tenure, Lifetime, Tenure-track & Non-tenure-track) Research (Tenure, Tenure-track, Lifetime & Non-tenure-track) and Mentor (all faculty ranks qualify).

March 22, 2024/Friday: Dr. Matt Matthews visited our meeting briefly. We discussed how to rank (0-5) each teaching category as the rubric developed.

April 5, 2024/Friday: Following a search from other university teaching award rubrics, we determined rubric categories with the 1-5 ranking. We discussed that submitted nominees rank at least 3s in most all categories to qualify for the award by the sitting Faculty Awards committee. If all nominees score below 3s determined by the rubric, there will be no award. This applies across-the-board to all awards.

April 19, 2024/Friday: Four Mentoring Award categories set with the score-rankings at 1-5.

We chose to set 3 summer dates (Thursday, May 9, Thursday, June 13 & Thursday, July 11) to continue this endeavor: Faculty Executive committee to Faculty Senate approval for delivery to campus for the nomination process, rubric descriptions, and activation for Spring 2025.

Summer: May 9, 2024/Thursday (due to the university's closing, we postponed to May 16) June 13, 2024/Thursday July 11, 2024/Thursday

Next meeting for academic year 2024-2025 is scheduled: Friday, August 9, 2024.

Respectfully & proudly submitted,

Dr. Jamie F. Harvey

Chair, Faculty Awards committee.