NATO Countries http://www.nato.int	Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, UK, USA
Major Non-NATO Allies (§§517, 664(q) of Foreign Assistance Act of 1961)	Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Egypt, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Morocco, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Republic of Korea (S. Korea), Taiwan, Thailand
European Space Agency Countries http://www.esrin.esa.it/export/esaCP/index.html	Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Greece, Luxembourg (expected to become a member in 2005)
European Union http://europa.eu.int/index_en.htm	Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Finland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, the United Kingdom
Countries on EAR Entity Chart (15 CFR 744, Supp. 4)	China*, India, Israel, Pakistan, Russia, Syria (countries with restricted entities on the EAR "entity chart" at 15 CFR 744, Supp.4)
OFAC Embargoed Countries http://www.ustreas.gov/offices/eotffc/ofac/sanctions/index.h tml	Cuba ^{*1} , Iran ^{*1} , Iraq ^{*2} , Libya ^{*1} , N. Korea ^{*1} , Burma (Myanmar)*, Liberia*, Sudan ^{*1} , Syria ^{*1,} Zimbabwe
Other US Embargoed Countries	Rwanda ^{*3} and the OFAC embargo list
Denied Person List	http://www.bis.doc.gov/DPL/Default.shtm
ITAR Prohibited Countries (22 CFR 126.1)	Afghanistan* ⁵ , Belarus*, Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Cuba* ¹ , Cyprus, Indonesia, Iran* ¹ , Iraq* ² , Libya* ¹ , N. Korea* ¹ , Syria* ¹ , Vietnam*, Burma (Myanmar)*, China*, Haiti*,Liberia*, Rwanda* ³ , Somalia*, Sudan* ¹ , Yemen, Zaire (Democratic Republic of the Congo)* ⁴ , Zimbabwe, any UN Security Council arms embargoed country (e.g., for certain exports to Rwanda)* ³
Chemical Weapons Convention Countries (15 CFR 745, Supp.2)	Afghanistan*5, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus*, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, China* (and Hong Kong), Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Croatia, Cuba*1, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran*1, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Republic of), Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos (P.D.R.), Latvia, Lesotho, Libya*1, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mauritania, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova (Republic of), Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan*1, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor Leste (East Timor), Tonga, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Ukraine, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam*, Yemen, Yugoslavia (Federal Republic of), Zambia, Zimbabwe

Updated as of 6.14.05. These listings are subject to change.

Export Controls & Embargoes Key – June 14, 2005 ©Massachusetts Institute of Technology 2002-2005

¹State Department Terrorist Countries (T-6). Note that Iraq is no longer considered a State Sponsor of Terrorism, but it is still subject to OFAC restrictions.

²The U.S. lifted most sanctions on Iraq on May 23, 2003. As of July 30, 2004, exports or reexports to Iraq must be licensed or otherwise authorized by the Department of Commerce. All OFAC licenses, issued prior to July 30, 2004, for the exportation or reexportation of goods, software or technology to Iraq remain valid until the expiration date stated in the license, or if no expiration date is provided in the license, until July 30, 2005. Sanctions remain on assets previously blocked by U.S. sanctions. Prohibitions remain on engaging in transactions with certain Iraqi cultural property and with certain high-ranking representatives of the former regime and their agents. The General Prohibitions under the Commerce Department regulations remain in effect.

³ Defense exports to the Government of Rwanda are reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

⁴ Zaire (The Democratic Republic of the Congo) is eligible for limited defense exports on a case-by-case basis.

⁵ Afghanistan is eligible for limited defense exports on a case-by-case basis.

^{*}U.S. Arms Embargoed Country.