Welcome to the Department of Political Science & Public Service at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. This website provides information about the department for prospective and current students, faculty, and the general public.

The Department of Political Science & Public Service is located in Pfeiffer Hall (Connected to the Stagmaier Dorm.) The main departmental office is 210 Pfeiffer and Dr. Deardorff is in 205 Pfeiffer. Come by and see us!

      Pfeiffer         Pfeiffer1

About us

The Department's mission is to provide UTC undergraduates and graduate students with high quality instruction in the fields of Political Science, Public Administration and Nonprofit Management.  We offer six undergraduate concentrations in American Politics, International Relations and Comparative Politics, Politics, Public Law, Public Policy, and Public Administration and Nonprofit Management. 

The Department also offers a Master of Public Administration (MPA) degree.  The MPA degree program trains pre-service and in-service students interested in public service careers.

Departmental degree programs are designed to achieve balance between theory and practice.  Students will acquire a better understanding of politics, will be able to analyze and evaluate policy issues and become familiar with various theoretical approaches in the social sciences.  Students in the Public Administration and Nonprofit Management concentration will also become familiar with concepts and techniques relevant to the management of public and nonprofit organizations. 

Academic Contacts

Administrative Contacts