2020 Homecoming Court 

Homecoming Queen Candidates

Major: Political Science & Public Service with minors in Economics and French

Community Involvement: Carver Youth Family and Development Center, city wide efforts to increase voter turnout

Campus Involvement: Political Science Club, UTC Echo

What does Moc Spirit mean to you?
Moc Spirit to me is doing good for others because others have done good for you. Essentially, it means giving back to the broader community, country, and world the generous gifts that have been offered to you through education, privilege, and opportunity.

Major: Social Work

Community Involvement: Ronald McDonald: Feed the Need, American Heart Association TN Valley Heart Walk, Walk to End Alzheimer, BSA Voter Registration Drive, Big Brother Big Sister

Campus Involvement: Black Student Alliance, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, Circle K, Unique Perception, University Strategic Plan Committee

What does Moc Spirit mean to you?
Moc Spirit is more than just wearing blue and gold. Moc Spirit is all dierent types of students with different backgrounds coming together to show why they love and choose UTC as their university; It is allthe unique things of UTC that keep students here. As a transfer student, I know what it feels like to not have your university feel like home. Instantly, when I transferred to UTC, I felt welcomed and the MocSpirit from all the students on campus. I knew this was the school and family for me. Moc Spirit is encouraging and creating positive safe spaces for incoming students; While advocating for inclusivity for every student.

Major: Business Marketing

Community Involvement: Humane Educational Society, Chattanooga Zoo, Siskin Children's Insitute, Rec Campus Ministries

Campus Involvement: Rollins College of Business Dean's Student Advisory Council, Freshman Senate, Business Living Learning Community, Cru, The Rec Campus Ministries, Institute of Management Accountants

What does Moc Spirit Mean to you?
Being a Moc means caring for your community, campus, and colleagues. College is such a diicult timefor many dierent reasons. The best thing that I have come to learn is that everyone wants to be known.You do not have to know their secrets for them to be known. Everyone just craves that feeling of beingtruly appreciated exactly as they are. Having Moc Spirit and Moc Pride means looking out for each other,supporting one another, and helping others achieve their goals.

Major: Marketing and Communications

Community Involvement: March of Dimes, crocheting baby hats for the University of Kentucky Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Girl Scouts, and the Children’s Advocacy Center of Hamilton County 

Campus Involvement: Brock Scholars, Kappa Delta, American Marketing Association, UTC Sticky Note Instagram Coordinator, UTC Community Kitchen Club, Freshman Senat

What does Moc Spirit mean to you?
Moc Spirit means hope. From the moment I stepped on this campus touring as a junior in high school, I was astonished at the kindness and compassion from the faculty and staff. This gave me hope for my future - as a Moc, professional, and eventually an alumni of this university. Coming back to campus after having online classes this semester has brought a deeper meaning to being a Moc for me. Moc Spirit iscoming back to campus and knowing you are home. It is walking into the library and instantly seeingsomeone you know, striking up a conversation, and struggling doing homework - together. It's knowing the employees here are rooting for you to succeed. It's yelling, Can I get 'Go Mocs'? and hearing a chorus of Go Mocs!. Moc Spirit is not something everyone has, but it is an embodiment of positivity, hope, and a sense that everything will work out. That is what Moc Spirit means to me.

Major: Communications with a minor in Spanish

Community Involvement: Chattanooga Soup Kitchen, McCamey Animal Shelter, Girl Scouts, UTC Day of Service, fall break mission trip to Florida with The House, an orphanage in Peru during study abroad

Campus Involvement: Kappa Delta, New Student & Family Programs, Student Success Programming through First Year Experience, First Generation Student Programming, Homecoming Committee, Academic Affairs Retention Committee, Moc Lead, ThinkAchieve, The House

What does Moc Spirit mean to you?
One of the coolest aspects of UTC is that each student brings something new and beautiful to our community. And even though they are all individuals, the biggest thing we have in common is the choice to attend UTC. We all made the decision to come to the university and work towards building a better future for ourselves and others. The Moc Spirit is what ties us all together. It flows through us the moment we make that decision to be a Moc. It is the sense of community and belonging to something bigger than ourselves. The school is an integral part of the city of Chattanooga and all of the lives that are a part of it. The spirit doesn't leave when you graduate, it is a part of the foundation you lay for your future, during the years you spend here. It is the energy in Finley Stadium on game day, the motivation in the library during finals week, and commonality between friends. It is intangible, but each student has it in their heart and soul, because you aren't just a Moc for your time at UTC, you are a Moc for life.


Homecoming King Candidates

Major: Studio Art with a minor in Communication

Community Involvement: Kids of Growth and Miracle League

Campus Involvement: Beta Upsilon Chi, First Year Experience

What does Moc Spirit mean to you?
Moc Spirit means constantly promoting UTC in the best light while having appreciation, gratitude, and apositive mindset about the opportunity to be a student at our university. With Moc Spirit it shows that anindividual is proud to be at this university and abides by the rules/regulations set by leaders on campus.

Major: Health and Physical Education

Community Involvement: Feeding America, St. Jude Up Til Dawn

Campus Involvement: Lambda Chi Alpha, Freshman Senate, SGA, Cru

What does Moc Spirit mean to you?
Mocs Spirit is bleeding Blue and Gold. Always being an advocate for all of the amazing opportunities offered at UTC. Taking pride in what UTC is and what UTC has stood for since we were founded back in 1886. Also knowing every word to the Fight Song!!

Major: Mechanical Engineering

Community Involvement: Resident Assistant

Campus Involvement: HOLA, West Campus Council, Cru

What does Moc Spirit mean to you?
Being proud of UTC

Major: Accounting

Community Involvement: volunteering at a local church, Habitat for Humanity, Boo at the Zoo

Campus Involvement: Richard's College of Business Dean's Student Advisory Council

What does Moc Spirit mean to you?
Moc Spirit to me means that UTC is a home away from home. It is a place where no matter how shy orsocial you are, you will find your people and they will become your best friends/new family. Also that nomatter what your interest are, you can find people who are very similar to you and that can also exposeyou to new ideas or ways of looking at situations.



Previous Winners

2020 - Collin Cantrell and Mashara Miller

2019 - Yancy Freeman Jr. and Dominique Malone

2018 - JuJuan Lewis and Ayriel Ayers

2017 - Noble Orie and Kalah Vance

2016 - Solomon Puryear and Brittany Watlington

2015 – Jay Nguyen and Heather Delbridge

2014 – Robert Fisher and Tina Nguyen

2013 – Zach Pursley and Erin Mercer

2012 – Bradley Bell and Dacey Winkleman

2011 – Charles Putman and Claire Simpson

2010 – Andrew Clark and Katie Harden