shorttop.jpg (1907 bytes)


November 5, 1992
Chattanooga Room B
University Center

ELECTED MEMBERS PRESENT: William Bertin, Tom Bibler, Martha Butterfield, Terry Carney, Monte Coulter, Neal Coulter, Susan Davidson, Joe DePari, Jack Freeman, Arlie Herron, Nick Honerkamp, Debbie Ingram, Doug Kingdon, Bob Marlowe, Gail Meyer, John Nixon, Betty Pickett, Marea Rankin, Ossama Saleh, Edgar Shawen, David Shepherd, James Stroud, Gavin Townsend, John Trimpey, Jeannette Vallier, Terry Walters, Don Weisbaker, Carolyn Wiley

ELECTED MEMBERS ABSENT: Pedro Campa, David Carrithers, Don Cassell, Larry Ingle, Irene Loomis, Larry Tillman, Joseph Trahan

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS PRESENT: Jane Harbaugh, Joe Jackson, Ralph Moser, Fred Obear, Grayson Walker

AMONG THE GUESTS PRESENT: Brenda Davis, John Delaney, Ray Fox, Jim Poston, Eric Schonblom, Veronica Scott, Ed Smith

Summary of Actions

Council approved the resolutions on class size and adjunct use as submitted by the Executive Committee.

Council approved changes in Admissions Committee and General Education Committee as presented by Committee on Committees.

Council approved a motion to have the General Education Committee investigate possible changes in the General Education requirements.

Council endorsed the draft of the new UTC Tobacco Products Use Policy.

Call to Order

President Butterfield called the meeting to order at 3:36 PM in Chattanooga Room B.

Approval of Minutes

Minutes from October 15 were approved as circulated. (Secretary's note: Susan Davidson was present October 15.)

Committee Reports

Executive Committee - President Butterfield

Students' concerns about increased fees may lead to a special committee to look at scholarships and how they are funded. The Math/Engineering Building is number two on the list for future budget years (not 1993-94).

The Executive Committee Resolutions on Class Size and Adjunct Use were distributed.

Motion to approve made by Professor Carney, seconded by Professor Bibler. Motion passed unanimously by voice vote.

Committee on Committees - Professor Bibler

Motion to replace the following three committee members as listed. Made by Professor Bibler, seconded by Professor Guerry. Motion passed unanimously by voice vote.

Admissions: Replace Paul DeVivo and Barry Roseman with Virgil Thomason and Sally Young.

General Education: Replace Peter Temko with James Ware.

General Education Committee - Professor John Trimpey

A. The committee has developed a new set of guidelines for writing in the General Education categories. It has also defined "an essay." These guidelines will be sent to each department.

B. The committee was charged last year to redefine its role (which it did) and to determine if changes need to be made in General Education requirements.

Motion - to endorse initiatives of the General Education Committee to investigate possibilities of modifying General Education requirements. Motion made by Professor Herron, seconded by Professor Weisbaker. Motion carried by voice vote with one negative.

The committee has no particular proposal in mind at this time.

Student Rating of Faculty Committee - Professor Butterfield

President Butterfield is charging the committee to review the evaluation form for information and bias. Additional techniques of evaluation (including peer review) need to be considered.

Old Business

A. Compensated Outside Services - Professor Schonblom

The committee met once, then the draft was distributed to all campuses. The underlying principle is that money from outside sources should be made known to the University.

President Butterfield declared that UT-Memphis Medical Units have a major problem with the proposal as written. Each campus will probably develop its own. President Butterfield referred the document to the departments and department heads for discussion. Comments should be relayed to the Executive Committee before the second meeting in January.

B. Discussion on the Academic Calendar was postponed.

New Business

A. University Smoking Policy - Mr. Jim Poston

The current policy was developed in 1986. The new policy as distributed would require at least one area indoors in each building where smoking is permitted (this is required by state law). However, under the new policy, smoking in private offices is allowed only in buildings where smoking lounges have not been provided.

Motion - To endorse the draft of the new policy as distributed by Mr. Poston with a correction on page 3 to change the Prohibited Tobacco Use Areas in the library study areas to read: "(except the three westside 3rd floor group study rooms designated for smoking)." Motion made by Professor Carney, seconded by Professor Townsend.

Amended to add that full notification be given to all faculty. Motion by Professor Weisbaker, seconded by Professor Jeannette Vallier. Amendment passed on voice vote.

Motion passed on voice vote with one negative and one abstention.

The Executive Committee thus withdrew its smoking policy resolution.

B. Americans with Disabilities Act - Drs. John Delaney and Ed Smith

Some faculty had expressed concern over the wording of the memo distributed on this issue. It was emphasized that faculty are not expected to diagnose mental or emotional disorders, nor must they tolerate any threat to the well-being of another person.

President Butterfield reported that several faculty have expressed concern over exceptionally rude or confrontational behavior by students. She proposes to have a Faculty-Student Relations Committee to help communicate such concerns.


Motion to adjourn by Professor Bibler and Professor Herron at 5:06 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Gail M. Meyer


top.gif (189 bytes)