Proficiency scale

The ESL Institute offers six levels of proficiency ranging from Level 1 for absolute beginners to Level 6 for advanced students. In order to accommodate a variety of personal needs and schedules, and to satisfy federal immigration requirements, the ESL Institute introduced full-time and part-time courses. Students enrolled in part-time courses have 12 contact hours of instruction per week. Additionally, they are advised to dedicate at least 8 hours per week to self-study in order to ensure language progress. Full-time courses consist of 20 contact hours per week. At the end of each course, both full-time and part-time students are required to take the TOEFL ITP test. The chart below presents a list of levels available at the ESL Institute at UTC. Each UTC level corresponds to a proficiency placement on the CEFR and ACTFL scales. Also listed are the target TOEFL ITP scores for each level. 


UTC level     
CEFR level
ACTFL level 
Full-time course number
Part-time course number
Target TOEFL ITP scores
Level 1 Pre-A1 (Beginner)

Novice Low

Novice Mid

NC21R NC11R 0-343
Level 2 A1 (Elementary) Novice High NC22R NC12R 347-393
Level 3 A2 (Pre-intermediate) Intermediate Low NC23R NC13R 397-435
Level 4 B1 (Intermediate)

Intermediate Mid

Intermediate High

NC24R NC14R 437-487
Level 5 B2 (Upper-intermediate)

Advanced Low

Advanced Mid

NC25R NC15R 493-537
Level 6 C1 (Advanced) Advanced High NC26R NC16R 540-577


Click here to learn more about the TOEFL ITP test and the required TOEFL scores for admission purposes at UTC.



American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages. (2010). Assigning CEFR Ratings to ACTFL Assessments. Retrieved from

Zwier, L. (2015). Correlations to International Standards and Tests. Retrieved from