Forming a Faculty Awards Committee (Draft)

Background

In Spring 2020 an adhoc committee was formed to examined the process used for determining faculty awards.

The as part of its final report, the committee recommended creating a Faculty Award Committee:

Create a Faculty Awards Committee of 8 through each dean's recommendation with faculty representation that would rotate among the various departments/programs within the college, as recommended by the department heads and dean.

Recommended: 2 faculty per college on a rotating basis. One faculty serves 2 years and 'rolls off' with the second faculty member moving to a second year and 'roll off'. Chair elected each spring for the next year's committee:

2/CHEPS 2/RCOB 2/Library 2/CECS 2/CAS

The Faculty Senate must now decide if it would like this committee to be a Faculty Senate Committee. If so, the Senate Bylaws must be updated to include this committee.

Possible Bylaw Language

The Faculty Senate Executive Committee has drafted several different ways the bylaws could be modified to create the Faculty Awards Committee and would like feedback on these options before presenting a formal proposal at the April 2021 Senate meeting. Below are several options to get the conversation started – other ideas are welcome.

Ad Hoc Committee Version (deans recommended membership)

Responsibilities: The committee is responsible for selecting university-level faculty award recipients from a list of finalists supplied by the colleges.

Composition: 2 faculty members from each academic college and the library. Each faculty member serves a two-year term, with the terms staggered. Members are appointed by each college dean. Each spring the committee selects, from within its membership, the committee chair for the next year. Ex officio: Provost designee.

Alternative Version (faculty volunteer membership)

Responsibilities: The committee is responsible for selecting university-level faculty award recipients from a list of finalists supplied by the colleges.

Composition: 2 faculty members from each academic college and the library. Ex officio: Provost designee.

Other Suggestions?