Proposed Bylaws Change Related to Handbook Committee

Rationale

The Handbook Committee's membership is currently restricted to Senate members. Each year the Senate struggles to find volunteers for the committee because the pool of possible members is limited and because Senate members already have significant service commitments.

The Faculty Senate Executive Committee believes expanding membership to include faculty not serving on the Senate will ease this problem.

In a recent survey of the faculty, over 76.6% of faculty expressed support for expanding the Handbook Committee to include full-time faculty who are not members of the Faculty Senate. Only 6% of faculty opposed the change.

Faculty were split over the balance of Senate and non-Senate members on the Handbook committee. 44.9% want the majority of members to be Senators, while 33.7% want an even split between Senate and non-Senate members.

| | % of Faculty |
|--|--------------|
| Majority of members should be from Senate | 44.9% |
| Even split between Senate and Non-Senate members | 33.7% |
| Majority of members should not be from the Senate | 1.6% |
| There should no rules regarding how many members are | 19.8% |
| or are not from Senate. | |

Given the committee is made up of 7 members (including the Vice President of the Senate), it is impossible to evenly split the committee between Senate and non-Senate members. Thus, the proposed language states at least half of the members of the committee must be members of the Senate.

Current Language

Composition. The Faculty Handbook Committee shall be composed of the Vice President of the Senate (chair) and six members of the Senate: two from the College of Arts and Sciences and one representative from the Library, College of Business, College of Health, Education and Professional Studies, and College of Engineering and Computer Science; ex officio: Provost designee.

Proposed Language

Composition. The Faculty Handbook Committee shall be composed of the Vice President of the Senate (chair) and six members: two from the College of Arts and Sciences and one representative from the Library, College of Business, College of Health, Education and Professional Studies, and College of Engineering and Computer Science; ex officio: Provost designee. At least half of the members of the committee (counting the chair as a member) must be members of the Senate.