Proposed Changes to Faculty Senate Bylaws for Equitable NTT Representation

Apportionment of Divisional Members

Divisional members shall be elected by the following voting divisions:

- a. Fine arts (art, music, theatre and speech);
- b. Humanities (communication, English, modern and classical languages, history, humanities, philosophy and religion);
- c. Behavioral science, (criminal justice, military science, political science, psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography);
- d. Mathematics and sciences, (biology and environmental sciences, chemistry, mathematics, physics, geology and astronomy);
- e. College of Engineering and Computer Science;
- f. College of Business;
- g. College of Health, Education, and Professional Studies; and
- h. The Library

The number of tenure-track Senate members from each of the above divisions will be based on the number of assistant, associate and full professors in each division. The number of nontenure-track Senate members from each of the above divisions will be based on the number of full-time non-tenure-track (lecturers, clinical, visiting, research, and practice) faculty in each division. If the size of the division is 1-15, 16- 30, 31-45, 46-60, etc., the number of representatives will be 1, 2, 3, 4, etc., respectively. Only those members of a division eligible to be elected as described above will be counted for the purpose of determining the apportionment.

At the time of the spring election, each division will elect representatives based on the apportionment for the academic year ending. At the beginning of the following academic year, the Executive Committee of the Senate will determine any changes in apportionment of the Senate based on the above criteria. Divisions entitled to more representatives will be notified and they will conduct the necessary elections at the earliest feasible time. Divisions entitled to fewer representatives will be notified not to elect a representative the next time a vacancy occurs or a term expires.

Elections of the Adjunct Members

Adjunct faculty shall have two Faculty Senate representatives serving each academic year. By Aug. 1, the President-elect should contact the dean of each college and request nominees for adjunct Senate members. At least five business days will be allowed for nominations. The President-elect will then announce the results of the nomination process and proceed to administer an electronic election in accord with the procedures set forth above. The winners of the election will be announced to both the adjunct and full faculty and installed on the Senate no later than Sept. 15. Unlike the terms of other senators, these terms are for is one year.

Rationale: The purpose of these two changes is to increase the representation of NTT faculty on the Faculty Senate, which will more accurately represent the overall faculty population, and to provide full-time non-tenure-track faculty with representation equitable to tenure-track colleagues.