Undergraduate Petitions Committee Report for the 2022-2023 Academic Year Chair: Andrea Schurr

The petitions committee consisted of the following faculty members: David Aborn, Catherine Kendall, Lingju Kong, John Lee, Karen McGuffee, Becky Nasadowski, Abdul Ofoli, Andrea Schurr, and Michael Thompson.

The petitions committee met via Zoom eleven times between September 2022 and August 2023 as noted below.

Petitions Committee Meetings:

- September 27, 2022
- November 1, 2022
- December 7, 2022
- January 5, 2023
- January 6, 2023
- February 16, 2023
- March 27, 2023
- April 4, 2023
- May 15, 2023
- June 21, 2023
- August 17, 2023

The committee reviewed a total of 100 petitions from September 2022 through August 2023 with 61 approved and 39 denied. Per the committee guidelines, another 43 petitions were approved by the registrar's office without committee review.

	Approved by Registrar	Approved by Committee	Denied
Excess Hours	25	1	0
Waiver of Course	0	2	1
24 Hour Exception	4	29	5
60 Hour Exception	14	7	2
Appeal from Suspension	0	11	15
Appeal from Academic Dismissal	0	9	13
Other	0	2	3
Total	43	61	39

The committee updated our internal guidelines (posted on our committee Canvas site) twice over the course of the year. In November 2022, we added language to clarify when the registrar's office approves exceptions to the 24 hour UTC residency requirement without committee review. In April 2023, we updated our guidelines for the residency requirement at 4-year institutions in response to the Faculty Senate decision to decrease this requirement from 60 to 45 hours. We also reviewed petitions that had been denied earlier in the year to address any situations in which a student might be taking courses this summer to meet the more rigorous requirement.

A regular topic of conversation on the committee was the common lack of comments by advisors and department heads to support their approval of petitions. This information helps to provide context to the committee about why the approval of a petition is justified and increases the chance that the committee will approve the petition. The committee has requested that these comment fields be required on the form, but this update has not yet been made.

I would like to thank all of those who worked so diligently on the committee this year. In addition, I would like to thank the Registrar's office staff: Beth Langford, Diana Fryar, Joel Wells, and Chelsea McHenry for their hard work.

Respectfully submitted,

Prof. Andrea Schurr Undergraduate Petitions Committee Chair, 2022-2023