The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Left to right kneeling: Vanessa Janeksela, Skye Webb
Standing: Lindsey Miller, Lauren DeLoach, Daniel Chatham, Ken Patel, Sara Magee, Jennifer Gordon , and Amanda Mansfield.

Nathanael Kokes, Eric Tiner, Aaron Henry


Grote Scholars announced

The Chemistry Department is proud to announce the new 2004-05 Grote Scholars:

Amanda Mansfield, McKenzie, TN
Lindsey Miller, Chattanooga, TN
Jennifer Gordon, Signal Mountain, TN
Sara Magee, Huntingdon, TN,
Lauren DeLoach, Jackson, TN
Ken Patel, Chattanooga, TN
Vanessa Janeksala, Soddy Daisy, TN
Skye Webb, Chattanooga, TN
Daniel Chatham, Dyersburg, TN
Eric Tiner, Soddy Daisy, TN
Aaron Henry, Maryville, TN
Nathan Kokes, Crossville, TN

The Grote Chemistry Scholarship Program awards are renewable over a four-year period and can be added to other University scholarships. Grote Chemistry Scholarships are named in honor of Dr. Irvine W. Grote, who served as head of the UTC chemistry department from 1941 to 1964. Previous Grote Scholars have graduated with distinction and gone on to success in chemical graduate schools, medical schools, law school, and the chemical industry.

Grote Chemistry Scholarship eligibility is based upon:

  • completion of a course in high school chemistry with an A or B
  • a high school grade point average of 3.5 or above
  • a composite score of 26 or above on the enhanced ACT exam (or SAT equivalent)
  • the student declaring chemistry as a major at UTC

Eligible majors include all BS and BA Chemistry degrees (including biochemistry and pre-medicine and pre-dental).

Selection of the Grote Chemistry Scholarship recipients is based on academic performance, interest in chemistry, and potential for continued outstanding achievement.

Please email Gail Meyer or call (423) 425-4486 or (423) 425-4278 for more information.