Pictured clockwise, starting from bottom left: Deborah A. McAllister, Janetta Flemming, Jack Thompson, Jane Brower, Karen Adsit, Jeff Rush and Verbie L. Prevost.

Faculty Fellow Master New Classroom Technology

Six UTC faculty members have been selected to explore new ways to integrate technology into the classroom. The 2002-03 Teaching, Learning and Technology Faculty Fellows are: Verbie L. Prevost, English; Jack Thompson, Computer Science; Jeff Rush, Criminal Justice; Deborah A. McAllister, Teacher Preparation Academy; Janetta Fleming, Teacher Preparation Academy; and Jane Brower, Teacher Preparation Academy, according to Karen Adsit, Director of the Walker Teaching Resource Center.

“These Faculty Fellows will serve as models to other UTC faculty on the use of effective teaching and learning strategies,”according to Adsit.

In the 2000-2001 Faculty Fellows class, Claire McCullough of Engineering & Computer Science explored the topic“Engaging Underrepresented Populations in Disciplines.” Her research supported the establishment of a successful summer camp for middle-school girls who are interested in engineering and computer science careers.

Teaching, Learning and Technology Faculty Fellows are funded by the University of Chattanooga Foundation, UTC Center of Excellence for Computer Applications and UTC Walker Teaching Resource Center. The program is open to any full-time tenure track faculty at UTC.

Each Faculty Fellow receives extra compensation for participation in the summer Faculty Fellows Institute, course release time in either fall 2002 or spring 2003, and limited funding for library research support. Faculty members also receive funding for new hardware and software.