Skip to Content


Campus & People

User-Defined Navigation:


Jones Observatory to reopen

Jones Observatory visitors who view gems in the night sky will notice the earthly sparkle of the newly renovated building, where a $280,000 makeover included sandblasting and repainting its dome, replacing the roof, refurbishing the front door and new brickwork.

The grand reopening of the Jones Observatory will be held Sunday, January 21--the doors will open at 5:30 p.m. and activities begin at 6 p.m. Visitors are invited to view the night sky through telescopes at 8 p.m.

Constructed in 1936 for the Chattanooga School System, Jones Observatory was turned over to the University for 99 years in a one dollar lease agreement during World War II.

Jack Pitkin, Operations Manager of the Jones Observatory, encourages everyone to come to the grand opening, and to attend other events listed on the Spring 2007 schedule.

The Observatory is located 4.5 miles east of the University campus, at 10 Tuxedo Avenue, north of Brainerd Road and Belvoir Avenue. For more information, call (423)425-4518 or (423)425-4407.

January 12, 2007