Skip to Content


Campus & People

User-Defined Navigation:


Political Philosopher to speak at C.S. Lewis Lecture at UTC

The 25th Annual C. S. Lewis Lecture will be held on Monday, March 26, at 7:30 p.m. in the Benwood Auditorium of the UTC Engineering, Mathematics, and Computer Science Building, at the corner of Vine and Palmetto Streets. This year’s guest speaker, political philosopher Dr. Jean Bethke Elshtain, will give a public lecture entitled “C. S. Lewis and the ‘Abolition of Man.'"

The author of twelve books and more than five hundred essays, Elshtain is the Laura Spelman Rockefeller Professor of Social and Political Ethics in the Divinity School, the University of Chicago where she teaches courses such as: Politics, Ethics and Terror; Political Realism; Just War and Politics; History of Social and Political Ethics;, and Politics, Ethics and Embodiment. She is also a contributing editor for the journal, The New Republic.

Elshtain earned her undergraduate and Master’s degrees from Colorado State University. In 1973 she graduated with a Ph.D. in politics from Brandeis University. She assumed her current position at the School of Divinity in 1995, having worked previously at the University of Massachusetts/Amherst (1973-1988) and Vanderbilt University (1988-1995).

This presentation is open to the public and has been supported by the Collegiate Christian Fellowship, the Chattanooga Community Foundation and the Speakers and Special Events Committee of UTC.

Established in 1983 by Charles Hummel of InterVarsity Christian Fellowship, the C.S. Lewis Lectureship is designed to help perpetuate the Christian and literary legacy of Oxford scholar C. S. Lewis.

Among the UTC faculty and staff who have served on the planning committee for the 25th Annual C.S. Lewis Lecture, are: Dr. Bryan Hampton, Assistant Professor of English; Dr. Greg Heath Guerry Professor and Head of the Department of Health and Human Performance; Dr. Immaculate Kizza, Professor of English; Dr. Joseph Kizza, Professor of Computer Science; Dr. Doug Kutz, Ben Gross Professor Chemistry; Dr. Dennis Plaisted, Professor of Philosophy; Dr. Charles Lippy, Leroy Martin Professor of Religion; Dr. Bill McClay, SunTrust Chair of Excellence in Humanities; Bill Prince of the Lupton Library; Daniel Webb, Director of Personnel Services; and Dr. Michelle White, Assistant Professor of History.

March 23, 2007