Skip to Content


Campus & People

User-Defined Navigation:


Communication awards Damon Dawn Scholarship and other honors

Chattanooga advertising executive Ralph Dawn recently presented UTC communication major Page Wood the first Donna Damon Dawn Communication Scholarship. Dawn and his family last year created an endowment designed to fund a yearly scholarship in the name of his late wife, Donna Dawn. The presentation was a highlight of the Communication Department's annual awards and recognitions dinner.

Donna Damon Dawn graduated from UTC in the early 1970s and built a career in broadcast copywriting and advertising. She met her husband, Ralph, while both were working at Chattanooga television station WDEF. After their marriage, the Dawns worked together to develop what became a successful advertising agency. Shortly after Donna's death, Dawn created the scholarship in her memory.

Communication Award
Scholarship recipient Page Wood
and Ralph Dawn.

Wood is a junior majoring in communication with a minor in business marketing. She is a graduate of Lexington High School in Lexington, Tennessee. Wood is a member of Chi Omega Fraternity, and Phi Eta Sigma and Alpha Lambda Delta honor societies. She is a Senator in the UTC Student Government Association. Wood is a member of the University's Conduct and Parking Appeals Committee, and she is active in several other campus and community organizations. She was recently named Advertising Manager for the University Echo. Wood says she is preparing for a career in advertising and sales.

Also, three UTC communication majors and one UTC communication faculty member have been inducted into one of the nation's oldest academic honor societies, Kappa Tau Alpha. The honor society was founded at the University of Missouri in 1910, and since its founding has been dedicated to encouraging and recognizing outstanding scholarship. To be nominated for membership, a student must be a senior or second-semester junior communication major in the top ten-percent of his or her college or university class.

UTC's 2006 KTA student inductees are Katie Broderick, Jennifer Danner and Tania Matthews.

UTC communication associate professor, Dr. Betsy Alderman is the newest faculty Kappa Tau Alpha inductee. Alderman was also named the Luther Masingill Professor of Communication. She fills the professorship vacated with the retirement last year of long-time faculty member Peter Pringle.

Graduating senior, Beth Young, was recognized during the induction ceremony as UTC's top communication scholar. Young's grade-point-average is the highest of any communication student.

April 28, 2006

More News…