Skip to Content


Campus & People

User-Defined Navigation:


Fellowship of Southern Writers Announces Honorees and Keynote Speaker

The Fellowship of Southern Writers will honor those who have contributed outstanding literary achievements as UTC and the UTC English Department host the Arts & Education Council (AEC) Conference on Southern Literature March 31 – April 2.

Betty Adcock will receive the Hanes Award for Poetry; Robert Bausch theHillsdale Prize for Fiction; Franklin Burroughs the Cecil Woods, Jr. Award for Nonfiction; Jerome Hairston theBryan Family Foundation Award for Drama; David Madden the Robert Penn Warren Prize for Fiction; Thorpe Moeckel theFellowship of Southern Writers’ New Writing Award for Poetry; Ron Rash theJames Still Award for Writing of the Appalachian South; and Curtis Wilkie theFellowship of Southern Writers’ Special Award for Excellence in Nonfiction.

The Fellowship will also honor George Garrett with the Cleanth Brooks Medal for Lifetime Achievement at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, April 1. Garrett is the Poet Laureate of Virginia and a founding member of the Fellowship of Southern Writers. Reynolds Price will give the keynote address after presentation of the Medal. An accomplished novelist, poet, and essayist, Price has received numerous literary honors, including the National Book Critics Circle Award, the William Faulkner Foundation Award, and a Pulitzer Prize nomination.

In addition, five new members will be inducted into the Fellowship of Southern Writers, including Robert Morgan, Lewis Nordan, Sam Pickering, and Wyatt Prunty. Larry Brown will be inducted posthumously and receive a special tribute by fellow member Barry Hannah.

Award winners and new members will participate in readings and discussions throughout the three-day Conference. For the full schedule of events or to register, visit the Arts and Education Council online, or call 1-800-267-4232.

March 10, 2005

More News…