Skip to Content


Campus & People

User-Defined Navigation:


New department heads announced

Dr. Herbert Burhenn, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, has announced the appointment of Dr. Verbie Lovorn Prevost, Katharine Pryor Professor of English, who has been named head of the Department of English, after serving as acting head of the department. Most recently, Prevost served as chair of the Search Committee for UTC Chancellor. UT President John Petersen selected Dr. Roger Brown to lead the UTC campus, who made the short list of candidates supplied by the search committee. Prevost has been with the University since 1986. She has served as Director of English Graduate Program, Director of the UTC Freshman Seminar and Coordinator of English Developmental Studies. Extensively published, Prevost has also made numerous presentations on the local, regional and national level. She received her B.A. with special honors and M.A. from Mississippi College, and the Ph.D. from University of Mississippi.

Dr. Ronald Bailey, Guerry Professor of Engineering and Dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science, has named Dr. Andy Novobilski as head of the Department of Computer Science, where he has been serving as acting head of the department. Novobilski has been with UTC since 2000. Under his leadership, the faculty of the Computer Science Department has worked with UTC Cooperative Education to strengthen ties with the community and increase opportunities for students. He has also worked with the UT SimCenter at Chattanooga to identify opportunities that mutually benefit both the Computer Science Department and the SimCenter. Novobilski earned his undergraduate degree in computer science from Drexel University. He received both the M.S. and the Ph.D. in Computer Science and Engineering from University of Texas, Arlington.

Dr. Herb Burhenn, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, has announced the appointment of Dr. Gail Meyer as the first woman to become chair of the Department of Chemistry. Dr. Doug Kutz, longtime head of the department, has elected to return to the faculty of the department. Dr. Meyer has taught in the UTC Department of Chemistry since 1982. She earned her undergraduate degree in chemistry from UTC. She received the Master of Science, Biochemistry with Nutrition Minor from the University of Minnesota. She received the Ed.D. from UTK. Meyer was chosen for membership in the Project Kaleidoscope Faculty for 21st Century, a project supported by the Exxon Foundation and the National Science Foundation for reform of science, mathematics, engineering and technology education. Meyers academic writing includes the article "Encouraging Female Undergraduate Students: What Can a Science Department Do?" which appeared in the October 2002 issue of the Journal of College Science Teaching.

Dr. Richard Casavant, Dean of the College of Business Administration (COBA), has announced the appointment of Dr. Kaye McClung, DBA, MTA, CPA as the head of the Department of Accounting and Finance. McClung came to UTC in 2002. She has served on the COBA Reaffirmation and Accreditation Committee, the COBA Strategic Planning Committee, and most recently, on the COBA Mission and Objectives Committee. She has published extensively, and she is a recent graduate of Leadership Chattanooga Class of 2004. She was appointed a member of Tax Legislation and Policy Committee of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, she is a member of the American Accounting Association, and she has served on the Federal Tax Conference Committee of the Tennessee Society of Certified Public Accountants. McClung earned the Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Auburn University. She received the Master of Tax Accounting from the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa and the Doctor of Business Administration from Mississippi State University, Starkville.

April 29, 2005

More News…