40th Annual
Accounting and Finance Lecture Series

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

11:30am - 1:00pm

Chattanooga Convention Center

One Carter Plaza, Chattanooga, TN

               Bernard Baumohl

Bernard Baumohl

Chief Global Economist,

The Economic Outlook Group, L.L.C. (Princeton, NJ)


About the Speaker

Bernard Baumohl is chief global economist at The Economic Outlook Group. He is well known for being ahead of the curve in assessing the direction of the U.S. and world economy. Previously, Mr. Baumohl was also an award-winning economics reporter with TIME magazine who covered the White House, Federal Reserve and Wall Street.


A sought after international speaker, Mr. Baumohl has been recognized for his forecasting accuracy. His economic and geopolitical projections are frequently cited in the Wall Street Journal, Washington PostNew York TimesBusiness Week, and the Financial Times. He has also lectured at New York University and Duke University, and served as a commentator on TV's Nightly Business Report.


Mr. Baumohl is author of The Secrets of Economic Indicators: Hidden Clues to Future Economic Trends and Investment Opportunities (Pearson Education). The best-selling book is in its 3rd edition and has been translated into several languages, including Chinese, Japanese, Russian, and German.


He is also a recipient of the John Hancock Award for Excellence in Financial Journalism.

Mr. Baumohl holds an M.A. from Columbia University's School of International Affairs.


Purpose of Series
To bring to the College and to the community outstanding individuals in the areas of accounting and finance and to provide a basis for the enrichment of and mutual cooperation between participating professional groups in the area.

Parking is available in the garage adjacent to the Chattanooga Trade and Convention Center.

CPE Credit
Those attending the technical program are eligible for one hour CPE credit.



CFA Society of East Tennessee

Tennessee Society of Certified Public Accountants      

UTC College of Business    



Accounting & Financial Women’s Alliance

Association of Government Accountants

Association of Certified Fraud Examiners

Beta Alpha Psi

Financial Executives International

Institute of Internal Auditors

Institute of Management Accountants

Each sponsoring organization will follow its own monthly registration procedures. Look in the mail for the monthly newsletter of the accounting and auditing organizations of which you are a member for the lecture series registration information.


Register for the lecture with ONE sponsor. All other organizations of which you are a member will be given credit for your attendance. College of Business alumni and friends who are not members of the cosponsoring groups are welcome to attend the Lecture Series luncheon by sending, a $20 check to the following address:


UTC College of Business

Accounting and Finance, Dept. 6206

Attn: Accounting and Finance Lecture Series

615 McCallie Avenue

Chattanooga, TN 37403-2598


Please include your phone number on the check so that we may contact you if necessary. Please make checks payable to UTC College of Business.  Please direct questions to Christine Estoye at (423) 425-2112.

Approximately 300 accountants and business executives attend the Accounting and Finance Lecture each year.


Past Speakers  

'74-75 James Don Edwards
'75-76 Robert K. Mautz
'76-77 C. Westbrook Murphy
'77-78 Arthur Wyatt
'78-79 Robert T. Atwood
'79-80 Dan M.Guy
'80-81 Joel M. Forster
'81-82 Frederick Zukerman
'82-83 Allan Kramer
'83-84 Harold Langenderfer
'84-85 John C. Fletcher
'85-86 Donald C. Jensen
'86-87 Robert L. Shultis
'87-88 John J. Willingham
'88-89 Russell E. Palmer
'89-90 Regina E. Herzlinger
'90-91 Victor H. Brown
'91-92 Dora R. Herring
'92-93 D. Gerald Searfoss

'93-94 Orville W. Mills, Jr.
'94-95 David L. Buchholz
'95-96 Barry L. Melancon
'96-97 Susan M. Phillips
'97-98 Tom Hough
'98-99 Dennis R. Beresford
'99-00 William W. Holder
'00-01 Tom Freeman
'01-02 James J. Leisenring
'02-03 Floyd Norris
'03-04 Walter Schuetze
'04-05 G. Michael Crooch
'05-06 Scott Taub
'06-07 William Acuff
'07-08 Katherine Schipper
'08-09 Charles E. Landes
'09-10 John Houston
'10-11 Lynford Graham
'11-12 Jay D. Hanson
'12-13 Betty F. Davis