Physics Scholarships and Awards 


Application Deadlines: We will be accepting applications for 2021-22 soon!


  • Jane and Lawrence Akers Scholarship: up to $1,000 per academic year to an outstanding and deserving student whose major or minor is physics.
  • Harry Deuberry Physics Scholarship: up to $700 per academic year awarded to a rising junior or senior physics student
  • Harriet and Karel Hujer Scholarship: variable amounts awarded to physics majors interested in astronomy, physics, and mathematics
  • Clarence Jones Prize Scholarship: up to $700 per academic year for a rising senior for excellence in astronomy
  • Harold Marlowe Scholarship: up to $700 per academic year awarded to a successful physics major whose nomination is supported by the department head

Awards (based on merit only) - No application is necessary for the awards.

  • Henry Ransom Award
  • Outstanding Teaching Assistant
  • Jones Observatory Outstanding Assistant
  • Sigma Pi Sigma (Physics Honor Society)