Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences

Search and Selection Process

Timeline of Events

  • November 2019: Announcement and advertisement of search
  • November 2019 — January 2020: Identification and recruitment of candidates
  • January 28, 2020: Search committee reviews candidate materials
  • February 6, 2020: Search committee selects initial candidates to interview
  • February 18–19, 2020: Search committee conducts initial interviews
  • Weeks of February 24 and March 2, 2020: Provost and search committee conduct interviews; open forums with campus community
  • March 2020: Offer extended to selected candidate
  • June 2020: Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences assumes responsibilities

Search Committee Members

  • Aggie Toppins, Department of Art
  • Steve Ray, Department of Performing Arts
  • Felicia McGhee-Hilt, Department of Communications
  • Lynn Purkey, Department of Social, Cultural, and Justice Studies
  • Chris Cox, Department of Mathematics
  • Jisook Kim, Department of Chemistry and Physics
  • Marcus Mauldin, Department of Political Science and Public Service
  • Chandra Ward, Department of Social, Cultural, and Justice Studies
  • Jada Phifer, Student
  • Erica Holmes Trujillo, CAS Student Success Center Director
  • Valerie Rutledge, College of Health, Education and Professional Studies
  • Stacy Richardson, UTC Political Science Alumna and Chattanooga Mayor’s Office
  • James Guilfoyle, Department of History
  • Daniel Pack, College of Engineering and Computer Science