US Capitol Building

AP® U.S. Government and Politics

During the 2018 AP® U.S. Government and Politics APSI Workshop, participants will:

  • Increase familiarity with the AP® US Government & Politics Program, regardless of previous level of knowledge.
  • Identify strategies for enhancing students’ success on the AP® US Government & Politics exam.
  • Identify and increase familiarity with resources that promote all of the above.
  • Facilitate transition from the “legacy” AP® US Government & Politics course to the redesigned AP® US Government & Politics course.

Instructor - Dr. Joseph Stewart

Joseph Stewart, Jr. (Ph.D., Houston, 1977) is Professor in the Department of Political Science at Clemson University.  He has taught “American Government” at the high school, junior college, and university levels since 1971.  Stewart served as the “Chief Reader” for the AP® Government & Politics exam from 1999-2003 and has participated in some way in every exam reading since 1994.  He has led or participated in numerous AP® Teachers’ Institutes from New Mexico to Virginia, from West Virginia to Florida, and points in between, and Workshops all over the U.S.  Related to those efforts, Stewart received an AP® Special Recognition Award from the Southwestern Regional Office of the College Board in 2000

Stewart also works with the “We The People:  The Citizen and the Constitution” and “Project Citizen” programs.  In those capacities he has judged “We The People” state finals in New Mexico, South Carolina, Georgia, the “Battle of the Carolinas,” and the national competition in Washington, DC, and assisted in leading “We The People” and “Project Citizen” Summer Institutes.  And, he serves on the NAEP Civics Standing Committee when NAEP Civics is not being canceled.

Stewart is the Past President of the Southwestern Political Science Association, Southwestern Social Science Association, and Vice-President of the Southern Political Science Association.  He received the Southwestern Social Sciences Association Distinguished Service Award for Outstanding Service to the Social Sciences in 2015.