Section Menu

Simple Search/Filter option for long tables

If you have tables containing large amounts of data, you may wish to request a Search/Filter form. Web Services can add a Javascript plugin to your page; you then add the table class: filter, and a Search/Filter form field will appear above the table. Users can type in keywords, and the plugin will hide any table rows that do not contain the keyword(s).

Examples of Search/Filter tables:

Lorem Ipsum Dolor Sit Amet
Ut egestas consectetur elit sit amet sollicitudin ligula euismod at
Integer non purus libero nec pellentesque lorem
Sed posuere est ac arcu feugiat placerat
Vivamus lobortis nisi sit amet purus sollicitudin congue
Suspendisse euismod lectus nec neque viverra vulputate
Duis sed velit ante in pellentesque erat
Vestibulum eu diam sed ipsum luctus sollicitudin at sit amet lorem
Cras rutrum sem non quam porttitor eu consectetur tortor tristique
Cras dapibus interdum turpis convallis tincidunt elit lobortis sed
Nam consectetur eros vitae dui rutrum ac porttitor felis pharetra
Pellentesque ut velit libero quis sodales ligula
Integer at enim non enim vestibulum sodales
Curabitur sagittis libero ultricies mi interdum dictum
Donec pretium tincidunt libero a rutrum dui venenatis ac
Vivamus ut nunc dolor vitae volutpat urna
Morbi malesuada sagittis dolor nec porta nisi convallis at
Nullam luctus pretium mauris quis adipiscing nibh convallis vitae
Maecenas vel felis tortor nec pulvinar dolor
Nunc ut arcu vitae ligula ullamcorper malesuada id vitae ligula
Vivamus condimentum laoreet est sed luctus tortor laoreet non
Aliquam eget arcu turpis pretium faucibus ante
Vestibulum quis nisi quis enim tincidunt vulputate
In a odio iaculis justo sollicitudin porttitor
Aliquam id felis eu tortor ornare vehicula
Praesent consequat dui at justo gravida ac mollis elit placerat

Responsive options for oversize tables

Some tables contain too many columns (or too much data within a column) to be presented on small viewports.

There are several options to consider.

For tables with several columns, but little data per column, you may choose to display the table on a Full Width template page.

For complicated tables, web services can install the FooTable plugin. FooTable has the following options:

  • Responsive tables: toggle and condense less important columns at tablet and phone viewport widths
  • Sorting: sort rows by column heading
  • Filtering: keyword search; hides rows except those containing keywords
  • Pagination: break long tables into multiple pages

Examples of responsive tables: 

FooTable Example with Responsive breakpoints and Column sorting

Resize the browser window or rotate your screen to see the responsive behavior.

  • Click the [+] symbol to expose hidden columns
  • Click the sorting arrows to sort columns alphabetically
  • Numeric and date sorting are similar, but require additional coding

See the FooTable demo site to explore the possibilities.

Name Title Department Phone Email
Adams, Valarie Cataloging Coordinator Collection Services (800) 666-4095 valarie-adams@domain.tld
Baker, Bo Team Lead, Studio Research and Public Services (800) 666-4505 bo-baker@domain.tld
Bell, Mike Assistant. Dean, Head of Collections Collection Services (800) 666-2670 mike-bell@domain.tld
Cairns, Virginia Head, Research and Public Services Research and Public Services (800) 666-2279 virginia-cairns@domain.tld
Cash, Josh Team Lead, Circulation Research and Public Services (800) 666-5466 joshua-cash@domain.tld
Clark, Sherlin Interlibrary Loan Specialist Collection Services (800) 666-4739 sherlin-clark@domain.tld
Cowden, Chapel Instruction Librarian Research and Public Services (800) 666-2672 chapel-cowden@domain.tld
Cox, Steven Team Lead, Special Collections and University Archives Collection Services (800) 666-2186 steven-cox@domain.tld
Dunn, Melanie Interlibrary Loan Specialist Collection Services (800) 666-4502 melanie-dunn@domain.tld
Edmondson, Susan Interlibrary Loan Specialist Collection Services (800) 666-4739 susan-edmondson@domain.tld
Elliott, David Circulation Specialist Research and Public Services (800) 666-4501 david-elliott@domain.tld
Gohn, Katie Assistant Head of Collections Collection Services (800) 666-2366 katie-gohn@domain.tld
Griffey, Jason IT Administrator Administrative Services (800) 666-5549 jason-griffey@domain.tld
Harris-Keith, Colleen Instruction Librarian Research and Public Services (800) 666-4469 colleen-harriskeith@domain.tld
Jackson, Layton Stacks Maintenance Specialist Collection Services (800) 666-4502 layton-jackson@domain.tld
Kutz, Beverly Instruction Librarian Research and Public Services (800) 666-2673 beverly-kutz@domain.tld
Lane, Anna Assistant to the Dean Administrative Services (800) 666-2135 anna-lane@domain.tld
Leathers, Laird IT Specialist Administrative Services (800) 666-5521 laird-leathers@domain.tld
Liedtka, Theresa Dean of the Library Administrative Services (800) 666-4508 theresa-liedtka@domain.tld
Myers, Jaime Evening Research and IT Specialist Research and Public Services (800) 666-2124 jaime-myers@domain.tld
Odom, Carla Circulation Specialist Research and Public Services (800) 666-4501 carla-odom@domain.tld
Price, Lisa Administrative Specialist Administrative Services (800) 666-4506 lisa-price@domain.tld
Remy, Charlie Electronic Resources and Serials Librarian Collection Services (800) 666-4470 charlie-remy@domain.tld
Rogers, Brian Web Services Librarian Administrative Services (800) 666-5279 brian-rogers@domain.tld
Runyon, Carolyn Digital Archivist Collection Services (800) 666-4503 carolyn-runyon@domain.tld
Schurr, Andrea Digital Development Librarian Administrative Services (800) 666-2668 andrea-schurr@domain.tld
Seaman, Priscilla Instruction Librarian Research and Public Services (800) 666-2669 priscilla-seaman@domain.tld
Swaren, Chantelle Assessment and Outreach Librarian Administrative Services (800) 666-2204 chantelle-swaren@domain.tld
Tekulve, Nicole Team Lead, Information Commons Research and Public Services (800) 666-4504 nicole-tekulve@domain.tld
Van Mater, Cheryl Evening Building Supervisor Research and Public Services (800) 666-5466 cheryl-vanmater@domain.tld
Wilkinson, Lane Team Lead, Instruction Research and Public Services (800) 666-2671 lane-wilkinson@domain.tld
©