Health A-Z and Your Community Resources

Your Student Health resource link.

Your Community Resources

 

General Health Information

www.familydoctor.org
www.medlineplus.gov  
www.WebMD.com

Mental Health

American Psychological Association: www.apa.org
National Mental Health Association: www.nmha.org
Addiction: www.drugabuse.gov

Women’s Health

www.womenshealth.gov
www.plannedparenthood.org
www.healthywomen.org

Alcohol and other Drugs

VU Alcohol, Tobacco and other Drug Prevention Program: www.vanderbilt.edu/alcohol
Rethinking Drinking Program:  www.rethinkingdrinking.niaaa.nih.gov
Thinking about Drinking Program:  www.thinkingaboutdrinking.com 

Allergy/Asthma

American Academy of Asthma, Allergy and Immunology: www.AAAAI.org
National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute: www.nhlbi.org
Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network: www.foodallergy.org

Dermatology

American Academy of Dermatology: www.aad.org
Skin Cancer Foundation: www.skincancer.org

Eating Disorders

National Eating Disorders Association: www.nationaleatingdisorders.org
Eating Disorder Coalition of Tennessee: www.edct.net

Emergency Contraception

www.plannedparenthood.org
www.womenshealth.gov (faqs – emergency contraception)

Fitness

www.fitness.gov
American Heart Association: www.americanheart.org

LGBTQI

VU LGBTQI: www.vanderbilt.edu/lgbtqi
National Coalition for LGBT Health: www.healthhiv.org/sites-causes/national-coalition-for-lgbt-health/
Gay and Lesbian Medical Association: www.glma.org

Infectious Diseases and Immunizations

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: http://www.cdc.gov/ncezid/ and http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases: www.niaid.nih.gov

Nutrition

American Dietetics Association: www.eatright.org
www.health.gov/dietaryguidelines
www.ChooseMyPlate.gov   
Office of Dietary Supplements: www.nutrition.gov
Food and Drug Administration: www.fda.gov
American Diabetes Association: www.diabetes.org 

Pregnancy

www.plannedparenthood.org
www.womenshealth.gov

Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS)

www.medlineplus.gov

Sexual Health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: www.cdc.gov/sexualhealth/
Planned Parenthood: www.plannedparenthood.org

Smoking Cessation

CDC Tobacco Information and Prevention Source (TIPS): www.CDC.gov/tobacco
Tobacco Free U: www.tobaccofreeu.org

Sports Medicine

www.vanderbilthealth.com/orthopaedics/16921
Center for Orthopedics and Sports Medicine: www.cfosm.com
American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons: www.orthoinfo.aaos.org

Tuberculosis

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: www.cdc.gov/tb/

Travel

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: www.cdc.gov/travel
MD Travel Health: www.mdtravelhealth.com

Vision

All about vision: www.allaboutvision.com
WebMD Eye Health Center: www.webMD.com

Disclaimer: Selected health related links are provided as informational resources only. Their inclusion in this web site should not be construed as an endorsement by the Student Health Services. We are not responsible for the accuracy of information in these links.