Section Menu

Academic Calendar Fall 2016-Summer 2017

Fall 2016 August 22, 2016- December 13, 2016
August 11 (Thursday Deadline to pay Fall 2016 fees before cancellation
 August 22 (Monday)  Classes begin
August 28 (Sunday) Last day to register in day or evening classes, to add a subject or change a section
August 29-September 2 (Monday-Friday) Registration Adds for Seniors and contract courses only. No new registrations.
September 2 (Friday) Last day to change from credit to audit or audit to credit
September 4 (Sunday) Last day to drop a class before a W (withdrawal) is recorded
September 5 (Monday) Labor Day holiday
October 3 (Monday) Rosh Hashanah
October 3-7 (Monday-Friday) Faculty notify undergraduate students of mid-term grades
October 12 (Wednesday) Yom Kippur
October 14 (Friday) Deadline for submission of graduation application for May 2017
October 14 (Friday) Deadline for petitions for December 2016 Graduation Candidates
October 16 (Sunday) Last day for official withdrawal from any class with a W
October 17 (Monday) Spring and Summer 2017 Course Schedules available for view online
October 17-18 (Monday-Tuesday) Fall Break (no classes)
October 31-November 11 (Monday-Friday) Spring 2017 Priority Registration for current UTC students
November 4 (Friday) Deadline for faculty to submit grade changes to the Records Office for Spring or Summer incompletes
November 23 (Wednesday) Thanksgiving Holiday Travel Day (no classes)
November 24-27 (Thursday-Sunday) Thanksgiving holiday
December 5 (Monday) Last day of fall semester
December 6 (Tuesday) Reading Day
December 7-13 (Wednesday-Tuesday) Final Examinations

December 17 (Saturday)

Commencement:

9:00 AM College of Arts & Science and College of Engineering & Computer Science

1:00 PM College of Business and College of Health, Education & Professional Studies

December 19 (Monday) Grades due from faculty by 9:00 am
  Fall Part of Term I  Fall Part of Term II  Fall 2016 Parts of Term
 August 11 (Thursday)  August 11 (Thursday)  Deadline to pay Fall 2016 fees before cancellation
 August 21 (Sunday)  October 16 (Sunday)  Last day to withdraw before fee obligation
 August 22 (Monday)  October 17 (Monday)  Late fee begins
 August 22 (Monday)  October 17 (Monday)  Classes begin
  August 22 (Monday)  October 17 (Monday)  Last day to register or change registration
  August 22 (Monday)  October 17 (Monday)  Last day to change from credit to audit or audit to credit
 August 24 (Wednesday)  October 19 (Wednesday)  Last day to drop a class before a W (withdrawal) is recorded
 September 14-16 (Wednesday-Friday)  November 9-11 (Wednesday-Friday)  Faculty notify undergraduate students of mid-term grades
 September 19 (Monday)  November 14 (Monday)  Last day for official withdrawal from any class with a W
October 7 (Friday) December 2 (Friday) Classes end
October 7 (Friday) December 2 (Friday) Final Examinations (Last day of classes)
October 11 (Tuesday) December 6 (Tuesday) Grades due from faculty by 9:00 am
Spring 2017 January 9, 2017-May 2, 2017
December 16, 2016 (Friday) Deadline to pay Spring 2017 fees before cancellation
January 9 (Monday) Classes begin
January 15 (Sunday) Last day to register in day or evening classes, to add a subject or change a section
January 16 (Monday) Martin Luther King holiday
January 17 (Tuesday) Deadline for submission of degree application for August 2017
January 16-20 (Monday-Friday) Registration adds for Seniors and contract courses only. No new registrations.
January 20 (Friday) Last day to change from credit to audit or audit to credit
January 22 (Sunday) Last day to drop a class before a W (withdrawal) is recorded
February 20-24 (Monday-Friday) Faculty notify undergraduate students of mid-term grades
March 10 (Friday) Deadline for petitions for May 2017 Graduation Candidates
March 12 (Sunday) Last day for official withdrawal from any class with a W
March 13 (Monday) Summer 2017 Registration begins
March 13 (Monday) Fall 2017 Course Schedules available for view online
March 13-19 (Monday-Sunday) Spring Break (no classes)
March 31 (Friday) Deadline for faculty to submit grade changes to the Records Office for Fall incompletes
April 3-14 (Monday-Friday) Fall 2017 Priority Registration for current UTC students
April 14 (Friday) Spring holiday
April 24 (Monday) Last day of spring semester
April 25 (Tuesday) Reading Day
April 26-May 2 (Wednesday-Tuesday) Final Examinations
May 6 (Saturday)

Commencement:

9:00 AM College of Arts & Science and College of Engineering & Computer Science

1:00 PM College of Business and College of Health, Education & Professional Studies

May 8 (Monday) Grade due from faculty by 9:00 am
Spring Part of Term I Spring Part of Term II Spring 2017 Parts of Term
December 16, 2016 (Friday) December 16, 2016 (Friday) Deadline to pay Spring 2017 fees before cancellation
January 8 (Sunday) March 5 (Sunday) Last day to withdraw before fee obligation
January 9 (Monday) March 6 (Monday) Late fee begins
January 9 (Monday) March 6 (Monday) Classes begin
January 9 (Monday) March 6 (Monday) Last day to register or change registration
January 9 (Monday) March 6 (Monday) Last day to change from credit to audit or audit to credit
January 11 (Wednesday) March 8 (Wednesday) Last day to drop a class before a W (withdrawal) is recorded
February 1-3 (Wednesday-Friday) March 29-31 (Wednesday-Friday) Faculty notify undergraduate students of mid-term grades
February 6 (Monday) April 3 (Monday) Last day for official withdrawal from any class with a W
February 24 (Friday) April 21 (Friday) Classes end
February 24 (Friday) April 21 (Friday) Final Exams (Last day of classes)
February 28 (Tuesday) April 25 (Tuesday) Grades due from faculty by 9:00 am
Summer Long Term Summer 2017 Long Term
May 11 (Thursday) Deadline to pay Summer 2017 fees before cancellation
May 16 (Tuesday) Last day to withdraw before fee obligation
May 17 (Wednesday) Classes begin
May 26 (Friday) Last day to register or change registration
May 26 (Friday) Last day to drop a class before a W (withdrawal) is recorded
May 29 (Monday) Holiday
June 15 (Thursday) Deadline for December 2017 graduation applications
June 21-27 (Wednesday-Tuesday) Faculty notify undergraduate students of mid-term grades
July 4 (Tuesday) Holiday
July 7 (Friday) Last day for official withdrawal from any class with a W
August 8 (Tuesday) Classes end
Last Class Period Final Examinations
August 10 (Thursday) Grades due from faculty by 9:00 am
August 12 (Saturday) August Degrees Awarded- No Ceremony
Summer Part of Term I Summer Part of Term II Summer 2017 Parts of Term
May 11 (Thursday) May 11 (Thursday) Deadline to pay Summer 2016 fees before cancellation
May 16 (Tuesday) June 27 (Tuesday) Last day to withdraw before fee obligation
May 17 (Wednesday) June 28 (Wednesday) Classes begin
May 17 (Wednesday) June 28 (Wednesday) Last day to register or change registration
May 17 (Wednesday) June 28 (Wednesday) Last day to change from credit to audit or audit to credit
May 19 (Friday) June 30 (Friday) Last day to drop a class before a W (withdrawal) is recorded
May 29 (Monday) July 4 (Tuesday) Holiday
May 31-June 6 (Wednesday-Tuesday) July 12-18 (Wednesday-Tuesday) Faculty notify undergraduate students of mid-term grades
June 9 (Friday) July 21 (Friday) Last day for official withdrawal from any class with a W
June 15 (Thursday) June 15 (Thursday) Deadline for December 2017 graduation applications
June 20 (Tuesday) August 8 (Tuesday) Classes end
Last Class Period Last Class Period Final Examinations
June 22 (Thursday) August 10 (Thursday) Grades due from faculty by 9:00 am
August 12 (Saturday) August 12 (Saturday) August Degrees Awarded- No Ceremony
©