Section Menu

Student Frequently Asked Questions

 

General UTC Learn Information

What is UTC Learn?

What is the Academic Acknowledgement Activity in my UTC Learn course? 

Submitting documents or files to your instructor (file name format)

If MyMocsNet is not working (down), will UTC Learn still work?

Why can't I see my course in UTC Learn?  

Why can I see a course on UTC Learn that I know I have dropped?

How do I bring a course back to UTC Learn after I have removed it from my course list?

How can I choose a secure password?

What is a bad time to use UTC Learn?

How can I print a document in UTC Learn?

How do I clear the web browsing cache on my computer?

What do I need to do when taking a test on UTC Learn?

What do I need to do when taking a test using LockDown Browser on UTC Learn?

 

What is UTC Learn?

UTC Learn (Blackboard) is the classroom learning management system for UTC.  Our goals are to extend the physical and virtual classroom environment through technology; provide the ability for faculty and staff to facilitate collaboration on- and off-campus; and help improve the learning experience of our students.   The software and its support is funded by the  UTC Student Technology Fees and by state funds.

Submitting documents or files to your instructor (file name format).

UTC Learn allows files with illegal characters in the file name to be submitted to the instructor; however, the instructor often cannot access such files. The fix in this case is for the student to rename the file without the illegal character(s) and resubmit it. Allowed characters in file names are as follows: A-Z, a-z, 0-9, a "-" (dash), and an "_" (underscore). Do not use file names containing the following characters: #, %, ), (, or &. Also, it is highly recommended that file names with spaces, $, and @ characters not be submitted.

If MyMocsNet is not working (down), will UTC Learn still work?

Yes, as long as campus authentication (username and password) is functional, UTC Learn should also work. Login to UTC Learn directly.  You do not have to login to myMocsNet to access UTC Learn.

Why can't I see my course in UTC Learn? 

All courses will become available automatically on the first day of class for each semester and part of term.  You may see your courses earlier if your instructor has requested to turn them on earlier.  If you do not see your course in UTC Learn by the first day of class, first ensure that you are enrolled in the course with the Records Office.  If you are enrolled, and still don't see your course by the second day of class, contact the IT Solutions Center.  

Why can I see a course on UTC Learn that I know I have dropped?

You will be automatically removed from the corresponding class in UTC Learn when you drop a class. However, dropped classes may take up to one business day to be reflected on UTC Learn.

Another option is to modify your course list in UTC Learn. To do this, log into UTC Learn. Click on the pencil in the top right corner of the My Courses window. Uncheck any boxes in Section 1 - Modify Courses List and click Submit.

How do I bring a course back to UTC Learn after I have removed it from my course list?

If you are trying to bring a course back after you have removed it from your course list, log into UTC Learn. Click on the pencil in the top right corner of the My Courses window. Check any boxes for that class in Section 1 - Modify Courses List, and click Submit.

How can I choose a secure password?.

A good password should be easy for you to remember, but hard for others to guess. Here are some password DOs and DON'Ts.

DON'T:

  • Use any form of your name or your initials
  • Use the name of a girlfriend, boyfriend, spouse, or child
  • Use your full Social Security Number
  • Use your UTC ID username

DO:

  • Use something that you can remember without writing it down
  • Use at least 6 characters, with at least one of them being a number
  • Try substituting a zero for the letter 'O' or the number one for the letter 'L'
  • Use upper and lower-case letters (passwords are case-sensitive).
  • Try using an acronym as a password. Think of a poem or song phrase that you like and can remember, then use the first letter of each word in the phrase as the password.

When is a bad time to use UTC Learn?

Regular maintenance occurs nightly from 3:45 am to 4:15 am. The UTC login process depends on multiple servers to provide you with access to the UTC Learn content. From time to time, these services may go down for system maintenance. When this occurs there may be a brief period of no access. If the service goes down during a time that is not designated as maintenance, call the IT Support Desk at (423) 425-4000 for more information.

How can I print a document in UTC Learn?

Once the document is open, go to File, then Save As, and designate the location for saving. Now you can open the document on your computer and print it.

How do I clear the web browsing cache on my computer?

If you are having problems viewing the login page for UTC Learn, try clearing the web browsing cache on your computer. Step-by-step directions can be found on the Brookhaven National Laboratory Web Services page. You will need to know which web browser you are using (i.e., Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome).

What do I need to do when taking a test on UTC Learn?

This page contains UTC Learn's recommendations and tips for taking UTC Learn tests and quizzes as a student. Follow these guidelines when taking a UTC Learn test/quiz to avoid problems such as being locked out of a test/quiz.

What do I need to do when taking a test using LockDown Browser on UTC Learn?

Your instructor may require you to take a test on UTC Learn using the Respondus LockDown Browser software. This software requires you to close all other software applications while taking the test and does not allow you to print, visit other websites, or do anything else while taking the test. This software must first be installed on your computer prior to taking the test. Install the software by clicking here.

For Windows users, the LockDown Browser installer program will be downloaded as the file LockDownSFX.exe. You must run this installer program to install the LockDown Browser on the computer you are using. After installation, you can start the LockDown Browser by using the shortcut that appears on the desktop or via the Start menu (Start > Respondus > LockDown Browser).

For Macintosh users, a folder named LockDown Browser Install will be created on your desktop. In this folder is the installer program named Install Respondus LockDown Browser.pkg. You must run this installer program to install Respondus LockDown Browser on the computer you are using. After installation, you can start the LockDown Browser via the Applications folder (look for LockDown Browser).

 

©