Section Menu

Faculty Advisory Board

painting of the School of Athens

Thanks to a grant from SunTrust Bank and the UC Foundation, UTC established an endowed Chair of Excellence in the Humanities.

The current Chair is held by Dr. Wilfred M. McClay (Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University), who also holds a position as professor within the Department of History. He is currently a Senior Scholar at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, DC, a Senior Fellow at the Ethics and Public Policy Center in Washington, DC, and a member of the Society of Scholars at the James Madison Program of Princeton University. He was appointed in 2002 to the National Council on the Humanities, the advisory board for the National Endowment for the Humanities. He has authored dozens of articles, as well as several books. Among the latter, The Masterless: Self and Society in Modern America (North Carolina, 1994) won the 1995 Merle Curti Award of the Organization of American Historians for the best book in American intellectual history published in the years 1993 and 1994.

Current members of the Faculty Advisory Board include the following:

Dr. Gregory O’Dea (UHON/English)
423.425.4611 / 4166

Dr. Gavin Townsend (Art)

Dr. William Harman (Philosophy & Religion)

Dr. Victoria Steinberg (Modern & Classical Languages)

Mr. Hugh Prevost (Student Development)