Section Menu

About the Honors College

As the student body of the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga continues to grow, university officials and faculty have recognized the need for expanded opportunities for honors-level study. The Honors College was established to plan and deliver these programs.

Dr. Linda Frost, Dean of the Honors College, joined the UTC community in August of 2013 to oversee the planning process for these additional honors experiences and the College at large. Currently, the Honors College includes the Brock Scholars Program, a four-year program that delivers a classical liberal arts education (directed by Dr. Gregory O’Dea), and Departmental Honors (coordinated by Dr. Joanie Sompayrac under the direction of the DHON Committee), a program in which eligible students from any UTC department can complete an honors thesis project in their major area of study.

Program planning, fundraising, and curriculum development for new honors experiences will take place during the 2013-2014 academic year, along with the development of a proposed timeline for implementation of the new initiatives. The Dean will consult widely with UTC faculty, administrators, students, alumni, and community members to create innovative and enriching experiences for highly motivated, academically talented students. If you have any suggestions, please send them to: The Honors College will also coordinate the application process of nationally competitive scholarships like the Harry S. Truman Scholarship, the Barry Goldwater Scholarship in the sciences, and the Fulbright U.S. Student Program.