The LeaderShape Institute

Leadership Programs


2016 LeaderShape Participants


About The Leadershape Institute

The LeaderShape® Institute challenges participants to lead with integrity while working towards a vision grounded in their deepest values. Participants explore not only what they want to do, but who they want to be.

Dynamic, challenging, and exciting, the week is intended to produce a breakthrough in the leadership capacity of participants—benefiting them individually, as well as their respective communities and the organizations they will go on to lead and serve in the future.

Session Dates

We will host our eighth session of LeaderShape the week of May 8, 2017. Check back for updates and applications!


Learning Outcomes

Leadership involves living in a state of possibility, making a commitment to a vision, developing relationships to move the vision into action, and sustaining a high level of integrity. The LeaderShape Institute aims to produce a breakthrough in the leadership capacity of participants and facilitators. 


Our curriculum, refined by almost two decades of repetition and reviewed by hundreds of facilitators, is split into different themes for each of the six days of a session. The themes are listed below:

  • Day 1 - Building Community
  • Day 2 - The Value of One The Power of All
  • Day 3 - Challenging What Is and Looking To What Could Be
  • Day 4 - Bringing Vision to Reality
  • Day 5 - Living and Leading With Integrity
  • Day 6 - Staying in Action

For more information about LeaderShape, visit their site.

2016 LeaderShape Participants


Mark Mastalski - Director of the Leadership Center, Fort Lewis College (CO)

Megan Watt - Executive Director & Co-Founder, Dream Catalyst Labs

Cluster Facilitators

Eddrick Brooks - Coordinator of Intramurals, UTC

Jennifer Henkle - Assistant Dean of Students and Case Manager

Lisa Brady - Graduate Assistant, Counseling and Personal Development Center


Guest Night Speakers

Dr. Bryan Samuel - Director of Equity & Diversity, UTC

Justin Hense - U.S. Army Veteran

Stephanie Rowland - Title IX Coordinator, UTC

David Geyer - Commercial Finance Manager, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Tennessee

Bradley Bell - Assistant Director of New Student & Family Programs, UTC

Student Participants

Paige Amorose Jenny Blanchard Jordan Bowen
McKenna Bowery Maria Brink Ricky Brown
Mar'Shelia Carter Caroline Coppock Cidney Coppock
Chloe Gay Nikki Goddard TriDereka Hall
Kaitlin Heikes Olivia Henninger Heather Henschen
Jocelyn Humphries Anna Martino Bradley Myers
Jon Omana Ansley Phelps Hailey Puckett
Blackely Riddle Brittany Rop Katie Rouse
Chrisropher Velasco Elizabeth Wilson  

Program Coordinator: Aubrey Duman, Assistant Dean of Students for the Office of the Dean of Students

Assistant Program Coordinator: Jared Wenger, Graduate Assistant for the Office of the Dean of Students

Student On-Site Coordinator: Mikayla Long, UTC LeaderShape Graduate '15