Section Menu

Student Success Series

The Success Series will provide  workshops and presentations to undergraduate students at UTC. The sessions are designed to assist students with college transition, an awareness of campus resources, and the development of skills for academic success.

 

All seminars will be held in either 104 Collins Street Annex Lab Building or 208 Lupton Library, noted below.

 

Upcoming Sessions:

  1. Achieving Student Success - Learn how to plan, set goals, and study to get maximum benefit from priority management.

  2. How to Prepare for Your First Exam - Look at some practical ways used by successful college students.

  3. Effective Note-taking - Learn tips and strategies for effective note taking and why it consists of three parts!

  4. Pre-Health Plan - How to get from a bachelor's degree to an MD, DDS, or Pharm D.

  5. Love Your Library - Learn how the many services of the library can help you research, relax, and thrive.

  6. Learning Styles (VARK) - Do you know how you learn best?

  7. Test-taking Tips - Successful strategies for test-taking.

  8. Plagiarism - A "How Not To" Workshop

  9. How to Prepare for Finals - Do not let finals stress you out!  Avoid the cram.


Achieving Student Success

Date     

Times   

Location

Monday, August 26

1:00-1:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Tuesday, August 27

12:00-1:00

104 CANX Lab Building

Thursday, August 29

9:00-9:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Tuesday, September 3

10:00-10:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Wednesday, September 4

3:00-3:50

104 CANX Lab Building

How to Prepare for Your First Exam

Date     

Times   

Location

Thursday, August 29

10:00-10:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Thursday, September 5

10:00-10:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Friday, September 6

9:00-9:50

104 CANX Lab Building

 

Effective Note-taking

Date     

Times   

Location

Wednesday, August 28

11:00-11:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Tuesday, September 3

12:00-12:50    

104 CANX Lab Building

Wednesday, September 11

10:00-10:50    

104 CANX Lab Building

 

Pre-Health Plan

Date     

Times   

Location

Wednesday, September 4

10:00-10:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Tuesday, September 24

2:00-2:50

104 CANX Lab Building

 

Love Your Library

Date     

Times   

Location

Wednesday, September 4

10:00-10:50

Library, room 208

Thursday, September 5

2:00-2:50

Library, room 208

Wednesday, September 11

6:00-6:50

Library, room 208

 

Learning Styles (VARK)

Date     

Times   

Location

Wednesday, September 11

2:00-2:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Thursday, September 12

12:00-12:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Tuesday, September 17

11:00-11:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Wednesday, September 18

3:00-3:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Friday, September 20

10:00-10:50

104 CANX Lab Building

 

Test-taking Tips

Date

Times   

Location

Friday, August 30

10:00-10:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Wednesday, September 4

12:00-12:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Tuesday, September 10

1:00-1:50

104 CANX Lab Building

 

Plagiarism: A "How Not To" Workshop

Date

Times

Location

Wednesday, October 9

10:00-10:50

Library, room 208

Thursday, October 10

2:00-2:50

Library, room 208

Tuesday, October 15

12:00-12:50

Library, room 208

 

How to Prepare for Finals

Date

Times   

Location

Monday, September 23

10:00-10:50    

104 CANX Lab Building

Thursday, September 26

12:00-12:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Tuesday, October 1

9:00-9:50

104 CANX Lab Building

Thursday, October 10

5:00-5:50    

104 CANX Lab Building

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

©